We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very noisy with pib atmosphere, however the burgers were really great and their wine list even better. A wide variety of food, but do not get too near the musician.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    108
    18
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bloody Marys, Oysters, Rose Chowder...what could be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have taken to eating at least once at AW Shucks whenever I'm in Carmel, and I'm never disappointed. Whether at the bar or a table, the service is efficient. I see the bartenders making all kinds of great-looking drinks, but I can't seem to stop ordering their Bloody Mary, and am never disappointed. Their seafood appetizer plate is easily enough for 2 with the addition of their incredibly wonderful rose clam chowder...a "gotta try" on their menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Best Crab Louie salad ever in quantity & quality of crab delicious. Excellent service and bar. Will go back whenever I am in Carmel. Located on Ocean Ave with all the shops so great place to stop for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More than an oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

1. Great bar with an incredible array of spirits.
2. One of the best burgers in town.
3. Great fish & chips.
4. And of course, oysters!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“More than just an oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The bell hop in our hotel suggested a few places to eat and said 'Shuck's is more than just an oyster bar'. My kids thought it was a hilarious line, but it worked and we remembered, so when we walked past we decided to pop in. We tried a selection of dishes, crab cakes, clam chowder, a sandwich and they were all very good. The service was attentive, as the bar is reasonably small. The price was reasonable for the location. Oddly enough none of us tried the oysters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.