We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than an oyster bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 149 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“More than an oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

1. Great bar with an incredible array of spirits.
2. One of the best burgers in town.
3. Great fish & chips.
4. And of course, oysters!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    106
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“More than just an oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The bell hop in our hotel suggested a few places to eat and said 'Shuck's is more than just an oyster bar'. My kids thought it was a hilarious line, but it worked and we remembered, so when we walked past we decided to pop in. We tried a selection of dishes, crab cakes, clam chowder, a sandwich and they were all very good. The service was attentive, as the bar is reasonably small. The price was reasonable for the location. Oddly enough none of us tried the oysters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Odd reason for 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The first weekend in August my wife and I were roaming around Carmel. Something we do regularly. It was lunch so we added our name to the wait list, because we wanted to try something other than our old haunts.
There on the menu was A TOASTED CHEESE SANDWICH. For someone in Carmel to be that grounded to put that on a menu, it has to be a first. It was a delicious dose of comfort. Toasted to perfection with gobs of cheese and well buttered. The french fries topped it. The quantity matched the quality. The reposado marguerita was great as was my wife's Long Island tea. Atmosphere was of a busy pub, with a good mixture of clientele. Clean, friendly, efficient, and the prices were good too. We'll come back when in need of comfort this fall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are from Australia and this is our third time we have been here. The service, food and ambience is excellent. Thank you Michelle and Michael and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Overall- even with so-so service and one bad app-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Over all the experience and the food make this joint an A+++, however our server was a little confused and one appetizer (calamari) was not very good.

The jumbo breaded shrimp!!! Wowzer!!!!! The salads and sandwiches yumm! and the baked clams.... I feared I wouldn't like them but my goodness we ordered a second tray!!!!

my portion of veggies came in one of the most delicious Bloody Mary's ever. Score!

It's on a main road and has a local attendance as well as tourist so expect a slight wait time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.