We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are from Australia and this is our third time we have been here. The service, food and ambience is excellent. Thank you Michelle and Michael and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    110
    19
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Overall- even with so-so service and one bad app-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Over all the experience and the food make this joint an A+++, however our server was a little confused and one appetizer (calamari) was not very good.

The jumbo breaded shrimp!!! Wowzer!!!!! The salads and sandwiches yumm! and the baked clams.... I feared I wouldn't like them but my goodness we ordered a second tray!!!!

my portion of veggies came in one of the most delicious Bloody Mary's ever. Score!

It's on a main road and has a local attendance as well as tourist so expect a slight wait time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Shucks is right on Ocean Ave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great fast moving rest in the heart of Carmel. Terrific oysters and food in general.
If you like oysters, go there

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“It was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner our first night in Carmel, and sat at the bar and ate. It was crowded as most places in Carmel, but the food was good and plentiful and we enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good lunch spot in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch on the main street restaurant in Carmel.
Great salads, great burgers.
There are many choices in this area, but if you can get a table ( we got lucky ), enjoy !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.