We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good lunch spot in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good lunch spot in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch on the main street restaurant in Carmel.
Great salads, great burgers.
There are many choices in this area, but if you can get a table ( we got lucky ), enjoy !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    108
    18
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Only if You Want Oysters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The raw oysters are good and fresh. The crab louie is prepared with a huge mound of completely tasteless crab. Nice space, but over-crowded and stuffy. The Bloody Marys are good. The service was slow, but it was there was a crowd. In summary, an OK bar with good oysters, but not an appealing spot for a pleasant lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Married an unrepentent oyster lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife jumped when she discovered A.W. Shucks in Carmel. We arrived for a one night stay in Monterey and the discovery came right out of the hotel's menu book while I checked in.

The restaurant is on Carmel's main drag, surrounded by all those upscale stores and hidden alleyways in a place I have always enjoyed. The hostess took our cell #, then called a half hour later to let us know that our counter space was ready. That's right, everyone sits high at one of several bars. We got lucky. Our seats were right up close to the shucking action.

Not being an oyster person, I ordered the calimari with a side of clam chowder. My much more adventuresome spouse, however, just had to have a dozen raw, also with chowder on the side.

She declared the fresh oysters, attractively served about 60 seconds after shucking, as some of the best she's ever had. Four varieties were on the plate, all great.

My calimari, while not the best ever (that distinction goes to Tadish Grill in San Francisco), were just a point or two lower. The only slight disappointment was the chowder. It was a full step below the best, but still very good. Served with nice oyster crackers and a really nice crusty slices of sweet french bread, the bowl is quite filling.

Our seats afforded us front-row visibility as the chefs cooked and assembled large plates of the restaurant's wide choices. Non-oyster lovers will find plenty to like here. Servings are generous and presentations are attractive.

We also ordered the local wheat beer from Carmel Brewing. It was a genuine hefeweizen in flavor, very enjoyable and refreshing with no hint of bitterness that some American wheat beers seem unable to shuck (pun unintended).

We were too full to go for dessert but noted that the key lime pie was darn tempting.

A.W. Shucks in Carmel is small so expect a wait most nights. Highly recommended and I hope they open in my home town. We'd be regulars. The price is not exactly low -- our dinner exceeded $60. Worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Oysters and Bloody Marys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our first night in Carmel and this was a great place to start! Lively crowd, good service, and excellent food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A friendly atmosphere with a good choice and generous portions of food. Worth making reservations as it was very popular.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.