We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recommended by a shopkeeper down the road. Good quality ingredients. Good pink chowder. good service. Need reservations if you go at peek hours

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    108
    18
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
telluride, colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were so glad we found A.W. Shucks. Our friendly server suggested we get a tasting portion of all three oysters they had available--which was great. The drinks were good. Atmosphere was casual--just what we were looking for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips platter I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to eat here with a colleague from work. Just completed the trip to Big Sur and back... was weary my car sickness wouldn't wane in time but thank goodness it did.

We ordered 12 oysters which were fantastic.

Also ordered a platter of fried fish, shrimp and calamari and it was honestly the best fried fish platter I had ever had.

Top everything off with a couple of their own A W SHUCKS red ales and it made for a perfect dinner!

Very cool restaurant as well as a wonderful staff. Would absolutely return if I am fortunate enough to be in Carmel again down the road

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hopping Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place was a lot of fun. It's small and was crowded, and we sat at the bar instead of waiting for a table; right in front of the two cooks. They were great! The staff was very upbeat, good service, excellent food, reasonable prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Conveniently located in the village. The food is great and the price is less than most of the restaurants in the area. More of a sports bar atmosphere, but a great little place to hang out for a casual dinner or drinks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.