We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster cravings satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ocean Ave AT San Carlos St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-6605
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Oyster cravings satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had really bad oyster cravings, so we were extremely happy to know that there was an oyster bar in Carmel.

They serve 3 kinds of oysters in which you can select specifically those that you wanted or just do a mix. The oysters were really fresh, and we were delighted to know that they served oyster shooters.

The calamari, crab cakes and fish and chips were also nicely battered that you can enjoy it even without any sauce.

In fact, it was so good we had to come back here a second time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    114
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“On Ocean....busy and average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is right on Ocean so when the tourists come in...it gets very busy. The Chowder is watery and the fish tacos are less than average. The fish & chips are a winner and the raw bar has good options. Time it correctly and order carefully.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Went for the Oyster Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We walked in here for a quick ouster stop on our way to the restaurant where we had actual dinner (Flaherty's). They were serving 3 kinds of oysters that day so we got a dozen - 4 of each. The oysters were WONDERFUL - freshly shucked, nicely presented. Outstanding.

The hostess/waitress was very nice, but the two fellows behind the oyster bar studiously avoided eye contact for nearly 5 minutes until we gave the oyster man an "Ahem - excuse me" as the waiterss was off helping other tables. We asked if we could order the dozen and he looked at us like we were crazy. He said "Well, I'll get that started but can't serve you until you place the order through the waitress"....??? This is strange for an oyster bar, where our experience is that you place your order with the stff behind the counter. Waitresses usually handle the table service. Oh well - he definitely does not get the Mr. Personality award so luckily the oysters made up for it :-)

They have a nice slecion of wines and a full bar - we enjoyed the drink & the snack then moved on to our next destination.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Malbaie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Everything was perfect for us! The service was very welcoming. The waiter was patient with us although our english was a little rusty. The food is amazing, the ambiance pretty relaxed. We recommend Shucks to anyone looking for a cool place to eat sea-food!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was by accident we went here -- the other couple we were with thought we liked oysters and then realized it was another couple they had taken here. So while they thoroughly enjoyed the oysters, we had the shrimp. The shrimp, clam chowder and salads were all great and highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.