We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down BEST sushi in Carmel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanagasa

Hanagasa
8TH Ave & Mission Ave, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 625-4470
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hands down BEST sushi in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm not a huge sushi fan but my husband is and we love coming here. It is a small family ran business and they are wonderful. The sushi is always fresh and flavorful. It is ran like a VERY typical Japanese restaurant in the way that food comes out as it is ready. Not always in your typical "American course" way but that's something we enjoy about it. We can both eat more then we should on top of our hot sake and the bill is only around $50 every time. That's AMAZING for fresh sushi! We both highly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Carmel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have to say when it comes to sushi the number one factor is fresh fish. The quality of fish keeps me coming back to Hanagasa. The service is some what inconsistent but not enough to stop me from coming.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

After reading the other reviews our group thought that we made the right decision choosing Hanagasa and making reservations there for our sushi cravings on a Saturday night in Carmel. Wrong choice! As we eagerly entered this small, sparsely decorated restaurant, we were delighted to be greeted by the host and seated promptly at our crowded but cozy table for four. Napkins unfolded, menus out, lets order some sushi! As we perused the menu our guests jumped up from the table and pointed to the extra guest crawling across the tabletop from behind the water glass. Yuk! A Beetle! Oh come on now, this just can't be happening. Can it? After a brief consultation with our dinner party, we decided that we would stay despite the uninvited guest, but thoughts of potential other critters running around the food prep areas of the kitchen made us all feel a little uneasy about what might be served later in the meal. A quick look around the place and you discover exterior doors left ajar and a missing screen from the window left to invite the creatures of the night in. We spoke to the host about our "bug" who was quick to point out that construction next door was the cause and that they have been having a problem with this ever since the construction began. Ok, so shut the doors and put a new screen in the window we suggested. He smiled and offered to buy us all a beer instead.Huh? Ok- back to ordering some sushi. Service was slow and a bit disorganized at times but what the heck, hopefully the food will make up for the minor inconveniences we have experienced so far. Wrong again. The sushi was fresh for sure but presentation was lacking and the overall taste of each dish was mediocre at best. Not the best sushi, not the worst sushi we've ever had, but not worth a repeat trip to this disappointing restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really excellent, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

A little cosy place, extremely kind and friendly service, excellent sushi, big portions at an absolutely reasonable price. Hope to come again soon,

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese food topped with perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This small Japanese restaurant is absolutely worth of visiting. Even if the restaurant is located conveniently you won't end up in there by accident.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanagasa also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Hanagasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanagasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.