We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find while walking through Carmel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merlot Bistro

Merlot Bistro
Ocean Ave AT Lincoln Ln, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-5659
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Anoka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice find while walking through Carmel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Carmel, and walking around we found this little place called Merlot Bistro. What a fine. The clam chowder was outstanding, which I was able to taste because the wife order it. I had the coconut shrimp soup which was good. But I should of had the clam chowder. I did have a BLT. And it was the best BLT. I've ever had. Great place and reasonably priced. I'm glad we found it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    20
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“OK but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Atmosphere was great -- we sat adjacent to a glass fire pit. Service left something to be desired - sat for 10 minutes before being offered water or anything else. I believe that it was due to a shift change but nevertheless, for the prices charged and the type of eating establishment, I expected better. Food was good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant in the middle of downtown Carmel. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was wonderful. It is very nicely decorated and caters to both the the business and vacation customers of Carmel. The food both looked and tasted delicious, and the "owner" stopped by each table to say "hi" and to make sure everything was OK. This was a wonderful experience on our first visit to Carmel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Going restaurant to restaurant reading menus and this sounded pretty good. We stopped for lunch. Husband and I both enjoyed our meals very much. Staff was excellent, great location. Would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice looking restaurant and the service was great. The food was just average. I ordered the tenderloin with the pancake potatoes. I ended up with red potatoes. My daughter had the fettichini and she ate the whole thing. Bread fresh and hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlot Bistro also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Merlot Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlot Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.