We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade breakfast! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of From Scratch Restaurant

From Scratch Restaurant
3626 The Barnyard Shopping Village, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 625-2448
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $9 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: For over 30 years, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it’s impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on the flower lined patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homemade breakfast! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I ate here because it was one of the higher rated restaurants in the area..and I'm sure glad I did. All the food was excellent. Everything tasted like it was homemade hence the name "from scratch". We were so pleased with this place, we ate there again the following day. The breakfast burrito is one the best I've ever had. The banana pancakes and omlettes were so delicious. My whole party loved it. Next time I'm in Carmel I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, huge serving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hubby and I live locally and woke up Sunday morning hungry for a big breakfast. I googled breakfast Carmel and this came up as number four. Hard to find, so take my tip and just drive around the back of the Barnyard property and park back there. However a walk through the Barnyard gardens is always a treat. If you are lucky it is a Lottery, weather wise you can sit outside. However Carmel is known for its fog and inside is cozy atmosphere and the menu is awesome. Hubby got the bacon cheese omelette and I got the house made corned beef hash with poached eggs and fruit. Huge servings here, bomb coffee, huge mimosas and great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good breakfasts, dog-friendly patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice outdoor patio, perfect for dining with our dog. Covered by trellis, so it's not completely sheltered, but the restaurant is tucked back on the bottom floor and sheltered by the surrounding shops for a very quiet and pleasant area. Never ate inside, but it seems even more compact and crowded inside.

Prices are a bit on the high side especially considering the smaller portion sizes, but this is Carmel after all -- not a place to stuff yourself, but quality is pretty good. Absolutely love the corned beef hash -- nice big chunks of real corned beef so it tastes like you're eating corned beef (and not just salty mush or tiny reddish brown bits...)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A very nice breakfast and lunch place in the Barnyard Shopping Center of Carmel. Indoor and outside seating that allows dogs to enjoy the patio as well. Full menu of breakfast and lunch items and reasonably priced. Specialty omelets or you can build your own. Skillets, pancakes, and even biscuits and gravy. The service is wonderful but can slow down a bit when the place gets busy. Great place to start the morning or to enjoy a fun lunch with friends or family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Big Mugs of Coffee, Good food, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On our visit, we had the nicest and most friendly waitress. The food was delish. We had the cinnamon french toast and breakfast burrito. They serve breakfast late, so that was a huge plus for us. Parking is easy as it is in a shopping center. It is towards the back of the shopping center, so once you park just walk towards the middle on the lower level. Best of all, the coffee is served in nice big mugs like at home. The day we were there, they came by often to top off and refill our coffees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage From Scratch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.