We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Dog Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of From Scratch Restaurant

From Scratch Restaurant
3626 The Barnyard Shopping Village, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 625-2448
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $9 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: For over 30 years, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it’s impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on the flower lined patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon.
Salinas, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A very nice breakfast and lunch place in the Barnyard Shopping Center of Carmel. Indoor and outside seating that allows dogs to enjoy the patio as well. Full menu of breakfast and lunch items and reasonably priced. Specialty omelets or you can build your own. Skillets, pancakes, and even biscuits and gravy. The service is wonderful but can slow down a bit when the place gets busy. Great place to start the morning or to enjoy a fun lunch with friends or family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Big Mugs of Coffee, Good food, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On our visit, we had the nicest and most friendly waitress. The food was delish. We had the cinnamon french toast and breakfast burrito. They serve breakfast late, so that was a huge plus for us. Parking is easy as it is in a shopping center. It is towards the back of the shopping center, so once you park just walk towards the middle on the lower level. Best of all, the coffee is served in nice big mugs like at home. The day we were there, they came by often to top off and refill our coffees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Large portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading the reviews, we decided to eat lunch here. I had the tuna fish salad. It was a large portion of canned tuna, on top of lettuce, surrounded by several different kinds of chopped vegetables. I enjoyed it more then I expected and couldn't finish it, because I got too full. My husband had a custom omelette. He said it was dry, as if over cooked. His meal came with with potatoes and fruit, which he said were good. They have a nice outdoor patio, which I found to be relaxing. We had our dog with us and dogs are allowed here on the patio. Our server was very friendly and efficient. The restaurant was not busy while we were there. Their prices are reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“A Great Place For Breakfast or Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Okay...so it is so worth searching for...just don't look in the big Crossroads shopping center. It is in the Barnyard...near the big Post Office. Perfect granola! Great wraps! Huge portions and really friendly servers. Our go to place out of Carmel:)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can always rely on this place to be consistently, good, homemade food! The inside eating area is small but they have a beautiful outdoor eating area! We ate here for breakfast & lunch! Both were outstanding! Their service is good as well. Definitely what we would call "old reliable"!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage From Scratch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.