We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place For Breakfast or Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of From Scratch Restaurant

From Scratch Restaurant
3626 The Barnyard Shopping Village, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 625-2448
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $9 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: For over 30 years, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it’s impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on the flower lined patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“A Great Place For Breakfast or Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Okay...so it is so worth searching for...just don't look in the big Crossroads shopping center. It is in the Barnyard...near the big Post Office. Perfect granola! Great wraps! Huge portions and really friendly servers. Our go to place out of Carmel:)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can always rely on this place to be consistently, good, homemade food! The inside eating area is small but they have a beautiful outdoor eating area! We ate here for breakfast & lunch! Both were outstanding! Their service is good as well. Definitely what we would call "old reliable"!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the hunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had to walk around the maze of a shopping area to find the place, but once we did, it was great! The waitress was great - very personable and attentive. The food was DELICIOUS and definitely "From Scratch" - if we had found it earlier during our visit we would have gone back daily!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, CT
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Tucked beneath the Barnyard Shopping Village, this place is tough to find. But we had a good breakfast and enjoyed the coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Service excellent. Anything on the menu is great. The Pebble Beach omelet is the best. So big need to share with my husband. Have a mimosa with your breakfast. Coffee is great. Location is great especially after running.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage From Scratch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.