We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Slow and Too hard to find” 2 of 5 stars
Review of From Scratch Restaurant

From Scratch Restaurant
3626 The Barnyard Shopping Village, Lower Level OF Complex, Carmel, CA 93921
18316258198
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in the LOWER level of the Barnyard Shopping Village - below Bay Bikes. The back stairs face Highway One. Since 1977, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it's impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on remodeled patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon.
NJ
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Too Slow and Too hard to find”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a Tuesday morning and we waited almost half an hour to get served breakfast. Great place to go if you need to kill a morning or have all the time in the world. food was so - so. Service is the worst.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not much to rave about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I saw the good reviews and took a chance..not a good move on my part. We had the worst waitress ever. The only thing nice I can say is that the food was mediocre and the waitress was friendly..super slow and confused but friendly..steer clear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews about breakfast we decided to try it on a Saturday morning. I thought the Carmel omelet was a bit overdone in that it was way too dry. I prefer my omelettes fluffier. It was enough for two meals but reheating it only made it drier. I also thought the biscuit was dry. I did like the potatoes though. My spouse had one pancake and it filled the plate. He said it was very good. The server was friendly but was trying to train a new employee which was taking up a lot of her time. It's a small area for the employees to navigate in the work area behind the counter so it must be difficult to keep things flowing at a comfortable pace but it seemed like a happy "family" of employees.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA, USA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Carmel Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wonderful cheese biscuits. Good portions. Good service. A little hard to find. Indoor a bit close, & outdoor dog friendly. Go here multiple times a year.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden jewel. When we sat down we noticed everyone's meal around us looked fresh, homemade, and plentiful. My wife and I ordered different things so we could share. Everything we had was great and would highly recommend this place to anyone willing to listen. Try the cheddar biscuit!
Get there early as this place fills up quickly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage From Scratch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.