We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, kids even liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grasing's

Grasing's
6th Ave, Carmel, CA 93922
831-624-6562
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grasing's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sixth & Mission
Description: Grasing’s, located in downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea, lies along the Pacific Coast in Central California in Monterey County. It is 120 miles south of San Francisco, 70 miles south of San Jose and 350 miles north of Los Angeles. Celebrity chef partners, Kurt Grasing and Narsai David, truly created a gem. Fancifully designed in warm hues and modern art work, Grasing’s sets the stage for entertaining that is at once festive and intimate. From friendly and professional service, an award winning wine list and seasonally inspired cocktails to the fresh and sustainable local ingredients are only a few reasons why Grasing’s still receives rave reviews from the press. Just recently, Grasing’s was awarded “Restaurant of the Year” and “Business of the Year” by the Carmel Business Association. Chef Grasing was also honored recently by the American Culinary Federation and received an award for “Chef of the Year”.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, kids even liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fantastic appetizer cheese/fruit platter, starter steamed artichoke with crab was on small side, but good. No kids menu but they enjoyed mac-n-cheese, also filet tips served on top of mozzarella crispy potato chips (like gourmet nachos!) Service a little slow but attentive. Nice dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    92
    34
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We sat at the bar - our favourite spot - and had a fantastic time. Ira the bartender was awesome. We watched him manage difficult clients, naive clients, valued customers, and some really odd requests. He handled it all with enthusiasm and a smile on his face. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting apps; great bar service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stopped in on a Saturday night to get a drink and an appetizer. We had no reservation but found a high top at the surprisingly empty bar (it quickly filled so I think we just got lucky on that). Our waitress was helpful in making drink and appetizer recommendations. She was a little short but it was clear her motivation was staying on top of all of her customers' needs so we didn't mind. The expresso martini and "new fashioned" were awesome .... you have to try their spiced whiskey drinks! The filet mignon & chips and tuna tartar appetizers were very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just OK for me...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Found the appetizers and entrees very average with a fairly expensive price tag. The staff was reasonably knowledgable and attentive. A very forgettable meal for me with one exception...THE ALMOND cake. It is highly unlikely that I will return to this restaurant but I could be seduced by that alone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The best steak in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just returned from Carmel where we celebrated my birthday at Grasing's. The food was awesome. I had their special Bone in Filet and it was perfect. Cooked to perfection and very delicious. The staff was great and the atmosphere was wonderful.
It was my first time dining here and we will be back. The Caramel Sundae was really good also.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasing's also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Grasing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasing's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.