We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK for me...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grasing's

Grasing's
6th Ave, Carmel, CA 93922
831-624-6562
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sixth & Mission
Description: Grasing’s, located in downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea, lies along the Pacific Coast in Central California in Monterey County. It is 120 miles south of San Francisco, 70 miles south of San Jose and 350 miles north of Los Angeles. Celebrity chef partners, Kurt Grasing and Narsai David, truly created a gem. Fancifully designed in warm hues and modern art work, Grasing’s sets the stage for entertaining that is at once festive and intimate. From friendly and professional service, an award winning wine list and seasonally inspired cocktails to the fresh and sustainable local ingredients are only a few reasons why Grasing’s still receives rave reviews from the press. Just recently, Grasing’s was awarded “Restaurant of the Year” and “Business of the Year” by the Carmel Business Association. Chef Grasing was also honored recently by the American Culinary Federation and received an award for “Chef of the Year”.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just OK for me...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Found the appetizers and entrees very average with a fairly expensive price tag. The staff was reasonably knowledgable and attentive. A very forgettable meal for me with one exception...THE ALMOND cake. It is highly unlikely that I will return to this restaurant but I could be seduced by that alone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    111
    68
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The best steak in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just returned from Carmel where we celebrated my birthday at Grasing's. The food was awesome. I had their special Bone in Filet and it was perfect. Cooked to perfection and very delicious. The staff was great and the atmosphere was wonderful.
It was my first time dining here and we will be back. The Caramel Sundae was really good also.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Walking around reading menu's and this place had a sign in the window for "best of Monterey peninsula" so we had to give it a try. It was booked for the evening but we found a table in the bar. Food was DELICIOUS!! Service was great too. Even though most people were very nicely dressed we were still treated well in our hoodies and tennis shoes!!!! Will be going back to try the lunch menu. I recommend reservations!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food - Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hostess came to chat as we were reading the menu outside. The menu looked delicious if a little pricey, but we decided to try it hoping the quality of service inside was a reflection of this friendly and helpful hostess. It was! The ambience is warm and classy without being stuffy. The food was great, but the service is what really stood out - professional, knowledgeable, timely and with a smile. I highly recommend Grasing's, especially for couples.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nv
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We only stopped in for a glass of wine. We ordered the truffle cheddar popcorn. It was so delicious I ate the whole bowl myself. Everyone was so nice I'd like to go there sometime and actually dine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasing's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Grasing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasing's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.