We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant dining experience in the lovely town of Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grasing's

Grasing's
6th Ave, Carmel, CA 93922
831-624-6562
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grasing's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sixth & Mission
Description: Grasing’s, located in downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea, lies along the Pacific Coast in Central California in Monterey County. It is 120 miles south of San Francisco, 70 miles south of San Jose and 350 miles north of Los Angeles. Celebrity chef partners, Kurt Grasing and Narsai David, truly created a gem. Fancifully designed in warm hues and modern art work, Grasing’s sets the stage for entertaining that is at once festive and intimate. From friendly and professional service, an award winning wine list and seasonally inspired cocktails to the fresh and sustainable local ingredients are only a few reasons why Grasing’s still receives rave reviews from the press. Just recently, Grasing’s was awarded “Restaurant of the Year” and “Business of the Year” by the Carmel Business Association. Chef Grasing was also honored recently by the American Culinary Federation and received an award for “Chef of the Year”.
London UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“An elegant dining experience in the lovely town of Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visited with friends on a quiet Sunday evening. Welcoming environment , friendly staff.
Good menu selections , well cooked and usual US generous portions! My steak was excellent Very extensive and expensive wine list so choose with caution if you don't want a surprise.
A stylish experience

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    103
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Top tier restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We get to Carmel about once a year and always eat at Grasings. Our table was available shortly after our reservation time; very little wait even on a Saturday night. The atmosphere is nice, not too noisy. The service is always outstanding, including the hostess, bus boys, and waitress. Their wine is list is extensive, but I wish they offered a few more selections “by the glass”. The bread is to “die for”, warm with a crisp crust. If you are not careful, you can make a meal of the bread and wine. The salads were fresh with a wonderful dressing. I ordered a steak which was prepared perfectly and my wife ordered a delicious paste. For desert, we just had coffee served in a French press, it too was great. The price is somewhat expensive, but given you are in Carmel, not too bad. I highly recommend this restaurant when you visit the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite Carmel restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We eat at Grasings regularly because it is always excellent. Their new bar area is very inviting and they have a delicious "bar food" menu. Their daily specials are always outstanding and I love their onion rings. The service is great and it 's a perfect place to go with visitors.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic and the will take pets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Grasing’s if one of my favorite places in Carmel-by-the-sea. If you have a pet with you, make reservation for the outside seating. You will not be disappointed. Great food, great service, quite, and they do not rush you out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA Area
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pleasant Evening with mixed reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The presentation and taste of the Sea Bass and the Salmon were exceeded expectations. The blends of the Sea Bass with white beans and bacon made for a delightful treat. The salmon was really fresh and tasty with a combination of spinach and vegetables. Our appetizers were the Lobster Mac and Cheese and 1/2 order of Onion Rings. Lobster Mac and Cheese was good but not great, while the onion rings were light and sweet; a great choice for sharing. The biggest disappoint was the caesar salad, it seemed to lack excitement. A boring, ok salad with little variety in the dressing. Overall, we enjoyed the dinner but with selection throughout Carmel, this is not where we will be eating, really soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasing's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Grasing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasing's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.