We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portabella

Portabella
Ocean Ave, Monte Verde St, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-4395
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: In Italian, PortaBella means beautiful door.In Carmel, it's a threshold well worth crossing.During the day, passerby on Ocean Avenue are lured in by the sight of diners happily engaged in food and conversation on the picturesque flagstone patio. At night, heady aromas and laughter waft innocuously out the famed front door each time it is opened.Once inside, you're instantly transported to the sun countries of the Mediterranean with "La Cuisine du Soleil."Inspired by regional dishes, the menu takes you on a gustatory tour of Italy, Southern France and Spain, complemented by a wine list offering an excellent selection of California wines.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a great find. Stopped by for some wine and soup. Both were excellent as well as the service. The manager or owner stopped by and chatted with us for five minutes. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    66
    26
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant lunch spot, sitting outside in the tiny garden. We enjoyed bruschetta and a tuna salad. God portions, nicely served with pleasant and attentive waiting staff and owner. Unremarkable glass of Chardonnay. Inside is quite large and looked very good indeed

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No Wine no expensive drinks - no good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After some breath taking views and long walks along the beach we were ready for dinner. Although not our first, choice we chose this restaurant because the aroma of the paella someone was enjoying outside, it was charming and there was not a long wait. After disappointing the waiter that we would not be ordering a bottle of wine or any other pricey drinks we were IGNORED the rest of our dining experience.
I ordered the paella and a variation of clam chowder the soup was EXCELLENT the Paella was good, but nothing like what I had in Spain. My GF ordered the Monterey Sand Dabs and I was not impress either. After tipping 5 USD for effect, we left disappointed...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“LOOK NO FARTHER IN CARMEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

There is no shortage of restaurants in the beautiful town of Carmel but one would be hard-pressed to better the experience and value of a meal at Portabella. From the old country atmosphere and painstaking service to the culinary delights, it scores at every level and it is difficult to imagine how it could be bettered at any price or location. We had Seafood Capellini and the amazing special with pasta and seared scallops in a mascarpone cheese sauce, then finished it off with a delicious creme brûlée. Our waiter was knowledgable, entertaining and dedicated. All round it was a memorable yet affordable highlight of our Carmel visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Delicious cuisine, nice atmosphere and stellar service - we love Portabella and have dined there numerous times.The front patio is so charming - quintessential Carmel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabella also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Portabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.