We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Europe in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portabella

Portabella
Ocean Ave, Monte Verde St, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-4395
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: In Italian, PortaBella means beautiful door.In Carmel, it's a threshold well worth crossing.During the day, passerby on Ocean Avenue are lured in by the sight of diners happily engaged in food and conversation on the picturesque flagstone patio. At night, heady aromas and laughter waft innocuously out the famed front door each time it is opened.Once inside, you're instantly transported to the sun countries of the Mediterranean with "La Cuisine du Soleil."Inspired by regional dishes, the menu takes you on a gustatory tour of Italy, Southern France and Spain, complemented by a wine list offering an excellent selection of California wines.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A little piece of Europe in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the excellent and bountiful lunch menu choices, extensive wine list and attentive service, we'll be back the next time we're in Carmel. The older European wait staff definitely knows how to treat customers well. Reasonable prices for such high-quality fare. The owner touring the tables and schmoozing the diners was sincere and clearly not staged.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    150
    56
    24
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We dined in early December, the staff was extremely friendly!! They were more than happy to take photos of us under their Christmas tree. The foix & wine were excellent. This was a very romantic dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We made a reservation in person in the afternoon of the evening we ate here and were asked if we'd like to eat in the back terrace. When we arrived we were shoved into a small table for two in a corner of the restaurant indoors. I couldn't move my chair back as the staircase was in the way. The waiter behaved as if it was a Michelin-starred restaurant, but I'm afraid the food didn't quite match his attitude. My husband's meal (a duck dish) was quite nice but my halibut was disappointing, dry, although it had an accompaniment of (too much) pink gratefruit. In the 2 weeks we spent travelling around California, I would say it was the only meal I didn't enjoy. The restaurant was quite full though, so perhaps I just ordered badly. It was also one of the most expensive meals we had!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at Protobella- the food and the service are both excellent. While in Carmel this a great place - the eat and enjoy the evening

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb food in the heart of Carmel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch at the outside tables on the main street of Carmel. Seafood, salads; and sandwiches were superb. Reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabella also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to Portabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.