We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portabella

Portabella
Ocean Ave, Monte Verde St, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-4395
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 149 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: In Italian, PortaBella means beautiful door.In Carmel, it's a threshold well worth crossing.During the day, passerby on Ocean Avenue are lured in by the sight of diners happily engaged in food and conversation on the picturesque flagstone patio. At night, heady aromas and laughter waft innocuously out the famed front door each time it is opened.Once inside, you're instantly transported to the sun countries of the Mediterranean with "La Cuisine du Soleil."Inspired by regional dishes, the menu takes you on a gustatory tour of Italy, Southern France and Spain, complemented by a wine list offering an excellent selection of California wines.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The best place in Carmel to have a party. Wonderful food and even better staff. Ajan was just wonderful and did everything to perfection.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    61
    26
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Carmel. Stop by Portabella for lunch. It was perfect. I had a wonderful salad with peaches and an amazing hamburger I am still talking about. The bread was fantastic. Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Portabella and will certainly dine there again when we return to Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming European-style bistro in heart of Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed Portobella so mucj that we had lunc and dinner there in the same week! This small, charming restaurant has four star service, a continental menu, and a cozy, inviting atmosphere. For dinner, I ordered the coq au vin and my husband had the paella. Both were excellent. Prices were reasonable for Carmel. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a good restaurant with really really nice staff. It's in a nice location off Ocean Avenue and the menu is really nice. I found it a tad pricey for the quality but their prices are very standard for Carmel. We went somewhat late so the place was almost empty but it still managed to be cozy and quaint. Exactly what we were craving after a drive down from San Francisco. All in all, a good choice but I suspect there may be better options in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Charming and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had dinner here because we liked the way it looked. The interior is pretty, cozy, relaxing and not at all loud. The staff and the food are excellent. So is the wine. PortaBella manages to be elegant and comfortably casual at the same time. And how do you not love a place where patrons can bring their leashed dogs (on the patio)?! Would eat here again. And again. And again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabella also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Portabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.