We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portabella

Portabella
Ocean Ave, Monte Verde St, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-4395
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: In Italian, PortaBella means beautiful door.In Carmel, it's a threshold well worth crossing.During the day, passerby on Ocean Avenue are lured in by the sight of diners happily engaged in food and conversation on the picturesque flagstone patio. At night, heady aromas and laughter waft innocuously out the famed front door each time it is opened.Once inside, you're instantly transported to the sun countries of the Mediterranean with "La Cuisine du Soleil."Inspired by regional dishes, the menu takes you on a gustatory tour of Italy, Southern France and Spain, complemented by a wine list offering an excellent selection of California wines.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped by for lunch. Four of us enjoyed tasty salads while watching people from the outside porch. Service was more than credible. Would visit again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    84
    32
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Continental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice menu. Lots of seafood choices. I had the Coq Au Vin and it was delicious. Owner makes everyone feel welcome and is quite a people person.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting atmosphere with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner after it was recommended by our hotel. I had the pork tenderloin, and my husband had the coq au vin. Both of our meals were good, but I wouldn't say excellent. The service was excellent! We enjoyed our romantic meal, but I might would try another food item.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu, with daily specials.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

They were supportive with our choice to share the chicken Pita. The evening menu looked inviting. The out door patio seating, allowed for people watching, while dinning.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wows All Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Kind of stumbled on to Portabella as we were walking down Ocean Avenue and remembered hearing good things about it. We sat on the patio surrounded by a nice rock wall and beautiful flowers. The service, food, and atmosphere were all fantastic. We started with the fresh goat cheese ravioli. I ordered the pork tenderloin special (served with potatoes and spinach) and my husband order the filet mignon with the vegetable terrine and potato galette. All of the food was absolutely fabulous and the potato galette is possibly one of the best items I have ever had period. Our waiter was very attentive, informative, and very friendly. He guided us through the menu and we were both very pleased with everything we ordered. We will definitely return to this restaurant next time we are in Carmel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabella also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Portabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.