We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming,good service, food mixed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
5th Avenue & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 0501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 153 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $75
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming,good service, food mixed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had lunch at Casanova, and sitting in the covered courtyard was very nice. My wife had their special jadori chicken dish which was excellent. I went traditional with the Croque Monsieur which was neither special or excellent..but the frites were good. Skip the sandwich and go with prepared specials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    337
    117
    67
    45
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You feel like you're not in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The restaurant is very charming. The servers are knowledgeable and helpful. The food was DELICIOUS. Four of us ate there. I had the Mount Meadows Lamb Rack. It was very tender and not at all gamey. Everybody enjoyed their meals. They have an amazing wine list. I'd eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fun casual dining experience. Great food with seasonal flavor. Gnocchi was best ever. Seafood pasta entree was fantastic. Wine list was extensive, but pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am a local so I've been here a few times. Reservations are a must as is the gnocchi! Great wine selection.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Very nice meal in atmospheric restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went on a recommendation. Glad we did as we very much enjoyed our dinner. The place looks small from the outside but opens up to a number of rooms on the inside. My wife chose Arctic Char in a seafood broth, perfectly cooked (ie. translucent fish in a very light broth) and I had the lamb, again well cooked (ie. pink). We had a local Pinot Grigio which was delightful. All in all a great experience. Not sure about the large tables with groups of tourists from afar, but nevertheless, a lovely meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.