We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
5th Avenue & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 0501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 149 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carmel, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The pasta was cooked just right, a little al dente, for both the Pollo Rustico con Pomodoro and the
Linguini con Scampi. The chicken was not sliced or cubed but was cooked so that it could be pulled which happens to be a favorite of mine. The Scampi had not only shrimp but also mussels. The sauce was very tasty and included the normal garlic, lemon juice and butter but also seemed to include cream as a thickener. We chose the beignets for dessert and they were great as were the accompanying sauces. The service got off to a slow start but being under the watchful eye of the hostess kept things moving along.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    131
    72
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Alittle full of themselves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wine excellent
Food not worth calories
No offering of salads , apps no to fit the crowd.
Steak blah, pasta blah.
Just not worth the hype

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice... interesting dishes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

good taste, but little bit unkind staffs and too much people in small place.
But, if I go to carmel again someday, I'll go to Casanova again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“On the Food Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We took a Food Tour of Carmel and this was one of our stops. We were offered spinach gnocchi which was out of this world! It was not gooey like most gnocchi. It had a smooth texture that melted in our mouths. Too bad we only had a small bite each.

This restaurant has lots of rooms with different character. You need to get reservations here very early if you want to come. And, we were told, that you need to talk to them about the atmosphere you want. Quiet, noisy, romantic, inside, garden, etc.

Next time we go to Carmel, we will reserve here several weeks early!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, lovely time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to have dinner after reading the reviews, looking at their website and on the recommendation of the place we were staying. We were especially interested because they allowed dogs.

We were given the outside table on the right (when looking at the restaurant). It was the perfect spot! Our server was great. We started by sharing the Tomato Garden dish which was tasty. I had the Mount Meadows Lamb Rack and my husband had the Linguini alla Scapesce for our main courses. Both were excellent. We also really enjoyed the breadsticks and dipping sauce they gave us.

For drinks we started with a glass of sparkling wine and then each had a glass of wine with dinner that was recommended (don't remember the names at the moment). Bottom line is that we enjoyed all the wines we had.

We were too full for dessert so we didn't get to try any. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would return the next time we are in Carmel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.