We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tipping here is out of control.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
5th Avenue & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 0501
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $75
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The tipping here is out of control.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends. The halibut was excellent but served too cold for my liking. No potato or pasta with it so not very filling. All the deserts ordered were excellent. The bill arrived with 18% already added. Tipping practices in the US are bad enough but this is out of control.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    318
    112
    61
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing in every aspect”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had seen this restaurant on a travel show so as it was our first trip to Carmel we booked well in advance.

The service was terrible as the table was left with empty plates and glasses for a long time until we asked a passing waiter ( not ours) to remove them. We asked for an ice bucket for our wine from our waiter who did not bring one , so we asked the Sommelier who again had to be reminded after 10 further minutes of waiting.. We ordered the fish of the day and the NY steak but both had no taste at all which was very disappointing indeed. The service was very poor and we were ignored by the sommelier and waiter on numerous occasions !!

Carmel has a plethora of restaurants so I sincerely urge you to give Casanova a wide berth and choose an alternative

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food with incredible service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you visit Carmel you must visit Casanova. The food is amazing from their wonderful seafood to my favorite lamb chops. You will love this gourmet experience and their exceptional wine list.

Do yourself a huge favor and visit Casanovas!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Casanova is Falling on "Hard Times"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

For many years now, I have always rated Casanova as being the best restaurant in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Repeatedly I have referred friends and strangers alike to it for a memorable dining experience. Its cuisine remains excellent as does its charming ambience in which to enjoy your meal. But I am afraid Casanova has gradually fallen on hard times. Were it not for it unique ambience, I could not recommend it has heartily as I once did. And why do I say this? Simply because of its long-standing tendency to overprice it menu selection, especially its varied selections of wines. Slowly but surely, it is "cutting corners" with a little less here and a little less there, especially the hors-d'oeuvres! The proverbial "straw that broke carmel's back" came yesterday, when I asked for some bread and was told that bread is no longer severed, but can be ordered for five dollars. I placed an order for it and I was give four slices of excellent bread, that is, at $1.25 per slice of bread! NEVER in life have I been in a restaurant and charged for bread, not to mention this outrageous price. So, fellow restauranteurs from now on I shall frequent "Le Saint Tropez" in Carmel-by-the-Sea, where excellent bread is served without charge and where the cuisine easily rivals that of Casanova.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Califonia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not To Be MIssed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The restaurant looks great as you approach--very inviting. The hostesses were very friendly, very welcoming, and very passionate about the food and the restaurant. The atmosphere is very relaxed, pleasant, and convivial. The server had a large area to cover, but she pulled it off with aplomb. A manager (owner? partner?) was circulating among the diners, conversing, filling water, clearing plates. Even better than all that was the food. It was fresh, delicious, and beautiful. You should not miss out on the experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Casanova Restaurant to your Saves list