We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not To Be MIssed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
5th Avenue & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 0501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northern Califonia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not To Be MIssed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The restaurant looks great as you approach--very inviting. The hostesses were very friendly, very welcoming, and very passionate about the food and the restaurant. The atmosphere is very relaxed, pleasant, and convivial. The server had a large area to cover, but she pulled it off with aplomb. A manager (owner? partner?) was circulating among the diners, conversing, filling water, clearing plates. Even better than all that was the food. It was fresh, delicious, and beautiful. You should not miss out on the experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    139
    78
    53
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ended up at Casanova for a little late night snack, when we couldn´t find anything else open (other than all the other restaurants, that is - grocery store closes way too early). We only had some appetizers, prices were a bit stiff, but the food was excellent! It is perfect for a romantic evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were really looking forward to a fantastic gastronomic experience but were bitterly disappointed. The staff were very offhand and the whole atmosphere was very pretentious - there was a limited menu and a half bottle of wine was 25 dollars. The food was very mediocre And we were so disenchanted with everything especially the exorbitant prices that it is the first time we decided not to tip!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A great recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

While visiting Carmel for the first time and shopping in one of the lovely cottages, the shop owner recommended going to Casanova for lunch or dinner. The next day we visited Carmel again and made sure we had lunch at Casanova. Everything was excellent from the charming cottage decor, the friendly knowledgeable staff and delicious food. Great Italian dishes, great wines and a few wonderful desserts. This must be one of the finest restaurants in Carmel and we will go again on our next visit to this area. We liked it so much that we purchased a gift certificate for the friends we were visiting in Pacific Grove.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Casanova was recommended by the concierge at The Inn at Spanish Bay and my wife and I loved it. It is located in a beautiful old house that is nicely decorated. The food was excellent. Pasta dishes are fabulous, so is the seafood. Great wine list and the service is friendly and professional.
We will definitely go back next time in Carmel which, hopefully, will be soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.