We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
5th Avenue & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 0501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were really looking forward to a fantastic gastronomic experience but were bitterly disappointed. The staff were very offhand and the whole atmosphere was very pretentious - there was a limited menu and a half bottle of wine was 25 dollars. The food was very mediocre And we were so disenchanted with everything especially the exorbitant prices that it is the first time we decided not to tip!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    139
    78
    53
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A great recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

While visiting Carmel for the first time and shopping in one of the lovely cottages, the shop owner recommended going to Casanova for lunch or dinner. The next day we visited Carmel again and made sure we had lunch at Casanova. Everything was excellent from the charming cottage decor, the friendly knowledgeable staff and delicious food. Great Italian dishes, great wines and a few wonderful desserts. This must be one of the finest restaurants in Carmel and we will go again on our next visit to this area. We liked it so much that we purchased a gift certificate for the friends we were visiting in Pacific Grove.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Casanova was recommended by the concierge at The Inn at Spanish Bay and my wife and I loved it. It is located in a beautiful old house that is nicely decorated. The food was excellent. Pasta dishes are fabulous, so is the seafood. Great wine list and the service is friendly and professional.
We will definitely go back next time in Carmel which, hopefully, will be soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Charming European Restaurant - Carmel's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having eaten here many times, it is the restaurant we always go back to first when visiting Carmel. I believe the restaurant has been here for 36 years, and is a favorite, and recommended highly by most hotels, motels, and cottages in Carmel.
The restaurant, is very European, serving Italian,pasta dishes, and even selling bunches og lavender.
Very charming! Food very very good and consistent. The Oso Bocco at lunch was sublime, and the baby octopus was wonderful, with a sauce that was very special. The pastry chef's stint is over 26 years, and all desserts are excellant!
The wine list is beyond fabulous! Page 70 features the very finest of French wines.... Spectacular! One of the best wine cellars anywhere...., I can recommend this restaurant high enough, we love it! Will always return...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great overall experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wandering around Carmel by the Sea, we came across Casanova's. What a find it was. The building is modeled after a villa you would find in an old town in Italy or France. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. They have a 120+ page wine list and a sommelier who was very helpful. On top of all this, the food is the highlight. Most all of the ingredients are local grown and organicand the pasta made fresh. My wife had the Insalata Nicolletta, and I had the Pollo Rustico con Pomodoro. Both were very, very good.
We must of got there just before the crowd, because by the time we left there was a wait for a table. So plan accordingly, but don't miss it. It is worth a short wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.