We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a favorite....but fading.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
5th Avenue & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 0501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still a favorite....but fading.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Been to Casanova twice before and still recommend. However, the food has been better in the past and the pace of the food delivery was off considerably. I made reservations for our party several days ahead of time and when I our party got there, they had no sign of our reservation. We still got in, but only because we got there early when the restaurant opened for lunch. Avoid the Croque Monsieur but the seared Ahi was impressive. The French fries were labeled as Pomme Frites, which they weren't (rather they were pretty plain, pre-frozen really greasy fries).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    159
    90
    56
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Worth
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“la buona cucina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This tiny house offers not only a romantic setting but quite possibly one of the best Italian meals outside of Italy. Save room for dessert!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As good as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We hadn't been to this restaurant for 19 years so weren't sure it was still as good, we were not disappointed! The food is outstanding and the ambiance is fantastic. Sit on the patio, it's cozy but fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had wanted to go to Le bicyclette for dinner, but without a reservation, they turned us away and sent us to their sister restaurant - Casanova - and what a find! It started with the way they warmly welcomed us and our two year old son. The child's menu was a delightful children's book with a menu on the last page. We had a great table, an attentive waiter, a simple menu and an amazing wine list. We had the gnocchi for starters, and it was the lightest gnocchi I have ever tasted. For main I had the steak (superb, and the trumpet mushrooms were fabulous), and my husband had the seafood linguine. Both excellent. Our son had the spaghetti, and ate an enormous amount as he kept saying "good mama". For dessert we had the best crime brûlée either of us have ever had. Our son had ice cream with berries. All of this matched with a superb bottle of wine. It was a restaurant we stumbled across and we are so glad we did. Thank you for a special night.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Charming Patio with Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The outdoor sitting area is charming. The service is exceptional. The waiter actually noticed I'm left handed and placed my water glass accordingly. Lovely attention to detail. Food was a big disappointment though. My grilled chicken salad was actually a minced chicken mixed with mayo - such a different experience and pretty awful compared to what I was expecting - a grilled piece of fresh chicken. The cannelloni were ok, honestly I would have been better off buying Amy's frozen dinner and reheating it for $5 vs. the $50 I spent on an appetizer, main dish and tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.