We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIAR TUCK...A COMFORTABLE PLACE FOR BREAKFAST...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friar Tuck's Restaurant

Friar Tuck's Restaurant
Dolores St & 5TH Ave, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 624-4274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 153 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“FRIAR TUCK...A COMFORTABLE PLACE FOR BREAKFAST...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ok, if you want a relaxed place to enjoy a quick, 'no pressure' breakfast - Friar Tuck is the place to go. We didn't know what the hours were - but when we arrived the place was open. It was already filled with locals (or at least people that looked like they were 'local'). We sat down had some great hot coffee ordered eggs (over easy), dry crisp bacon and some rye toast - it came quick and was cooked perfectly. The other tables were talking local and national politics, the weather and the influx of tourists - it was very very comfortable. Obviously the place hasn't changed in a decade or two - but that's okay - it works. On our rating scale of "A" to "F," Friar Tuck's Restaurant gets an certain -- "A".

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    18
    17
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chef is a riot/The food is serious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a small establishment that was recommended by a Carmel friend who lives down the street. Good that they take reservations for breakfast, as we had a party of 9. The number of mouths we had to feed slowed down delivery a notch, but the food made up for the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friar Tucks is a very cool 1960's era Carmel Landmark!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

While I love Carmel, those that run the place need to stop tinkering with the entrance to town. I once had no trouble finding Friar Tucks a block off Ocean Ave, now the highway doesn't go to Ocean Ave, making it harder to find this wonderful old fashion California diner.

Friar Tucks specializes in Reuben Sandwich's made on the grill with buttered bread. You can't buy these sandwich's in many towns cooked this good. I need to add, they make a great 1/2 Lbs burger for $ 6.95. The owner is older, friendly and very knowledgeable after 45 years in Carmel. My guess is this place won't be here in 5 years.

Go Now! This is a restaurant well worth your money and time! Maybe I should say backwards in time, backwards to when America was a kinder and more gentle place than it is today.

By the way, you won't be alone, this is a hangout for Carmel Cops and Fireman, it would not surprise me to find a couple of Hollywood type lurching around during the quieter times of the day. The place is real old time cool.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, Small Cozy Seating, TV's On”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were looking for breakfast in Carmel, and wanted a good chance at a quick table so we searched the side streets and decided to try Friar Tuck's. It was busy with lots of families and couples, but we got one of the last tables and were happy we did. The service was friendly, the menu had lots of choices of traditional Breakfast fare, and the food was pretty good in the casual old diner spot kind of way. A golf tournament was playing on the TV, but when you're close to Pebble Beach that's important apparently. I would go back if I'm hungry and don't want to worry about what I'm wearing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Basic Cafe - And Welcomed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

In Carmel there are many cafes and restaurants that are serving nuveau cuisine with fancy linens and very creative menus. And we enjoy them. Yet there are those moments when all we want is a basic breakfast meal in a friendly, clean, old style cafe. This is one of those places. Off the main avenue on a quiet corner the place is unpretentious and inviting. The menu for breakfast was typical except for a few interesting choices. One was being able to choose a grilled skinless, boneless chicken breast as the breakfast meat. What pleasure in not being limied to the bacon, ham, sausage plan. This is not gourmet cooking - it is cafe cooking that is good. Yes, the corned beef hash comes from a can. And note that the owner likes to chat it up with the patrons. That can bother people but others will welcome it - personal preference. If you just want a quiet corner to read the paper, go somewhere else. If you want lively conversation and be introduced to your fellow diners, this is for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friar Tuck's Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Friar Tuck's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar Tuck's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.