We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast, Small Cozy Seating, TV's On” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friar Tuck's Restaurant

Friar Tuck's Restaurant
Dolores St & 5TH Ave, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 624-4274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, Small Cozy Seating, TV's On”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were looking for breakfast in Carmel, and wanted a good chance at a quick table so we searched the side streets and decided to try Friar Tuck's. It was busy with lots of families and couples, but we got one of the last tables and were happy we did. The service was friendly, the menu had lots of choices of traditional Breakfast fare, and the food was pretty good in the casual old diner spot kind of way. A golf tournament was playing on the TV, but when you're close to Pebble Beach that's important apparently. I would go back if I'm hungry and don't want to worry about what I'm wearing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basic Cafe - And Welcomed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

In Carmel there are many cafes and restaurants that are serving nuveau cuisine with fancy linens and very creative menus. And we enjoy them. Yet there are those moments when all we want is a basic breakfast meal in a friendly, clean, old style cafe. This is one of those places. Off the main avenue on a quiet corner the place is unpretentious and inviting. The menu for breakfast was typical except for a few interesting choices. One was being able to choose a grilled skinless, boneless chicken breast as the breakfast meat. What pleasure in not being limied to the bacon, ham, sausage plan. This is not gourmet cooking - it is cafe cooking that is good. Yes, the corned beef hash comes from a can. And note that the owner likes to chat it up with the patrons. That can bother people but others will welcome it - personal preference. If you just want a quiet corner to read the paper, go somewhere else. If you want lively conversation and be introduced to your fellow diners, this is for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very friendly restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A place to go if you want to meet some of the locals. The long time owner is originally from Chicago and he will chat you up. The breakfast portions are pretty good. Prices can be a little high for this no frills basic breakfast. We thought the corned beef hash tasted like it was from a can though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greg & Cynthia..... pleasant and always welcoming!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Locals know, if you want a quick easy breakfast, Friar Tucks will take care of you! Plus Greg will tell you about the movies he has seen recently, so you get breakfast a movie reviews. Don't expect exotic meals or a lot of substitutions allowed, but for a solid breakfast....you are sure to be taken care of.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shocking behavior, don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In fairness, they highlight their burgers, which were pretty tasty. They are med/rare and they don't ask for your preference. I happen to like med/rare. The shock was the chef/(I assume) owner who was a complete misogynist. As I sat at my table eating my lunch he went over to a young boy, perhaps 10, pointed at me and called me an ugly name. I do not know this man or the boy or the man sitting with him. After paying for my meal I approached the chef and expressed my outrage at which he laughed and said it was a joke. I would not reccommend this place to anyone that respects women or wants to teach their children manners or respect.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friar Tuck's Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Friar Tuck's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar Tuck's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.