We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes, simple is nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friar Tuck's Restaurant

Friar Tuck's Restaurant
Dolores St & 5TH Ave, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 624-4274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sometimes, simple is nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

After five days in the Carmel area, we happened upon this restaurant on our way out of town. We had tried to go to Katy's, but it was, of course, packed (timing is everything.) We wandered a bit and discovered this local's hang out. We had a nice breakfast, not fancy, (and that was nice too at this point), cooked to order, not piles of cold bacon waiting for a plate. The other people were locals, policemen, contractors - regular working folks. It's charming in a campy sort of way, clean and quiet. It's been around for years, on a corner next to the post office. Maybe that's why it's more of a locals hang out, it's not in the middle of the shopping madness. Even parking wasn't a problem. Would certainly go back. Very reasonable, good value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and Friendly Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went for breakfast at Friar Tuck's and were greeted with humor and friendliness and a good booth (we picked Shirley rather than John Wilkes). Down home food in large portions and the friendliest people we met in Carmel (which is a very friendly place). Good prices. You really can't go wrong having breakfast here! They kept the coffee coming. We'd go back anytime we were in Carmel.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best breakfast joint in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Out of our three days in Carmel, we had breakfast twice here rather than at the complimentary buffet offered at the Best Western nearby. It isn't too pricey and the breakfast items are delicious and fresh. The waitress and cook were very cool and so friendly. They even gave us travel tips to the surrounding areas. Wish we had breakfast here on our last day. The pancakes were unparalleled.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have been to Carmel three times and have eaten at Friar Tuck's about nine times. We have tried several other places, but always return to Friar Tuck's. The food is always good and the Owner/Cook is very friendly and will come to your table to make small talk. My wife and I are not easy to please when it comes to breakfast and we have never been disappointed with Friar Tuck's.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Breakfast in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I love this cozy restaurant! The owner and staff are warm and friendly and make everly feel like a regular. The food was super delicious and served promptly. Sometimes prices can be on the high side in areas as beaufitul as Carmel ... but that is not the case here at Friar Tucks.

They understand that not everyone wants a huge breakfast and offer smaller portions at an extremely reasonable value. If you want the huge omelette or breakfast, they have that available too. Everything are family ordered was cooked to perfection! The coffee was great!

We saw this lovely restaurant as we were walking around one evening. It was set up perfectly and so inviting that we went there the next morning. We were not dissapointed! We have a new favorite place to eat breakfast in Carmel ... even thought its been since the 70's. We love it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friar Tuck's Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Friar Tuck's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar Tuck's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.