We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Relaxing Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Quail Lodge & Golf Club to your Saves list
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun, Relaxing Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

No better way to relax after a long day driving up the Pacific Coast Highway through Big Sur than staying at the Quail Lodge. It was such a nice venue, continental breakfast was top notch, and the room was huge. Stayed in a king deluxe, worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    52
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
71
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel recently underwent a huge remodel. They decided to cut costs of concierge, bell service, etc to make other areas of the hotel nicer, which concerned me a little before check in. No need! The staff was so helpful, from making sure we got settled, the crib was set up correctly, etc. Our room, which was set up like a private cottage, was spotless, spacious, and well decorated. Our little outdoor patio was a perfect place to enjoy morning coffee. The hotel provides continental breakfast as well, and it is wonderful. All organic coffee, tea, yogurts, amazing fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. My husband and I cannot say enough good things about this fantastic place, and it really was the perfect place to take our 2 year old. If you are worried about distance to Monterey/Carmel, it is really only a 10 minute drive to downtown Carmel and about 15 to the aquarium, etc. Additionally, we were in town for a wedding, and the hotel had so many fantastic gathering spots for all the guests to get together until late in the evenings, and there is also a very fun cantina directly across the street, which is an added bonus. We love this place, and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Each room is like a cottage, so you can't go wrong, but the first floor rooms have more charm an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I wasn't sure if it was a good idea to stay so far away from Carmel proper, but I figured since we were just driving in and continuing on our journey the next day, it would be ok. I'm very happy I picked this hotel. Our room was flawless and the service friendly and competent. The only issue, which isn't an issue if you know ahead of time, is that they use European bedding which means there is no top sheet. If you like to sleep with just a top sheet in the summer, just ask for one when you check in.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and his friend gave me and his friend's wife a two-night stay and two rounds of golf for the four of us as a birthday present. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a wonderful patio overlooking the 14th fairway. We could not have been treated better by the hotel staff, the pro shop staff and the staff at Edgar's. The bartender, Rudy, was especially nice. The golf course is in excellent shape.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were three couples travelling around California in June 2014. Having just come from a 2-night stay at Inn at Spanish Bay, and having no information on Quail Lodge other than TripAdvisor reviews, we had no idea what to expect. What a surprise!! The grounds are spectacular, the rooms some of the best I have seen, and the staff wonderful. We only stayed one night but we all agreed that if we came back to California, a much longer stay at this resort would be a must. We did not go to Edgar's, yet we had the most fantastic meal/experience at the Mexican patio directly across the street...what a treat! The location is perfect...a short distance to Carmel, a stunning National Park for hiking, Monterey and Big Sur. The breakfast "buffet" was the best 'included' buffet I had ever had...all organic and many fresh options. So happy we chose to book based on TripAdvisor reviews...it didn't disappoint!! Amazing value for the money we paid!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here one night before going to the Monterey Bay Aquarium (just a few minutes away). The seemingly one-story hotel has been recently remodeled. I loved that the old floor plan was maintained, as it reminds me of grand old hotels in Europe or, for example, the Claremont Hotel in Berkeley, in that the rooms are spacious, with a huge bathroom. The bathroom has giant mirrors on two walls and a separate small room for the toilet (kind of like a phone booth in the bathroom, but it had a toilet and a phone). The main room had a window seat---when's the last time you saw a window seat in a hotel room? The location of most rooms is lovely -- ours was on a pond and beyond the pond was the golf course with several Canada Geese in residence. The continental breakfast made use of organic or high quality produce and products---organically grown peaches and plums, local honey, organic peanut butter, Umpqua oats, etc. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate at Edgar's on the golf course. If they still have the $50 dinner for two, it is worth it. A very peaceful place in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Most room locations seemed good. Ours was on a pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked for five nights and stayed another two.
One of the most homely hotel rooms we have stayed in. Very comfortable bed with beautiful linen. Great bathroom with everything you need.
Very helpful staff without being over attentive, just the right level of service.
Super value, high quality food at the clubhouse, we ate there 5 nights.
Well manicured golf course. My wife is a beginner and we both enjoyed playing it.
Gardens are beautifully maintained, a joy to walk through.
We would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quail Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quail Lodge & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.