We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge in great setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Quail Lodge & Golf Club to your Saves list
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge in great setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We met friends here who had suggested this hotel which was running a special for the month of June. Wow, it is beautiful in a great valley setting. The rooms were roomy and very comfortable. The amenities are phenomenal. We did not play golf. The continental breakfast was excellent with the presentation of organic fruit which was impressive! Our room was on the second floor of the two story building. We overlooked the putting green. Other rooms faced a pond which some might enjoy and want to request. The short drive to Carmel was easy, and we were out of the hustle and bustle of summertime Carmel! The staff were very friendly and helpful when we had questions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
68
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This lodge is located about 4 miles outside of downtown Carmel. The outside of the buildings are nothing special but don't let that sway your opinion. The rooms are very spacious, newly remodeled, and wonderful. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The property has a golf course which I did not play. They have a 9 hole putting course, bocce ball court, and a nice pool. (all included) It's very peaceful and the surroundings are beautiful. They serve a continental breakfast which is also included. I'm usually not too impressed with these types of breakfasts but this one was one of the best I've seen. They have different cereals, fresh baked goods from a local bakery, yogurt, breads, and fruits. Best of all it is all fresh and all organic.

The staff was phenomenal. I would recommend this place without hesitation. It's minutes from downtown Carmel, 17 mile drive, and the north end of Big Sur.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family of four stayed here for a couple of nights. We have stayed here many years ago and before the recent renovations. This place has the amazing ability to accommodate all ages: older love the grounds ( golf course), wine, tranquility
Younger: golf - they even have a putting course running throughout, pool area is fantastic

Pros: the rooms are huge, clean, service impeccable, being 5 mins drive from Carmel so away from the hustle but close, continental breakfast is in the lobby and is free, the golfing at pebble beach , spyglass and Spanish banks amazing location!!

Cons: the price is not a bargain$250 a night but acceptable for the area, there is a lot of people BUT since the hotel has a huge area you don't feel it until you go to the free continental breakfast then you have a but of mayhem over people reaching for toast

Overall: I would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel was the highlight of our trip. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The service was excellent and the grounds were beautiful. Our room was on the bottom floor of one of the two story buildings with a private sitting area outside looking out at the practice putting green. The room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was large with both a large shower and tub. The shower had both a regular shower head and a hand held shower. Even though the hotel is fairly large, we felt like we were in an inmate boutique hotel. All of the staff, including the cleaning ladies and the receptionists, were exceeding friendly and helpful. The only thing the hotel lacked was spa services which were available at the Retreat a short distance away.

The location was great as well, we were just minutes from Carmel and Monterey. Parking was available right outside our room and we were walking distance from a good restaurant and farmers market. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The grounds are spectacular as you are on the edge of the golf course. It is a large complex, with all the amenities. Our room was very spacious, with electric blinds to cover the sky lights at night. The en-suite had both shower and large tub. The bed was very comfy and all linens high quality.
It would be easy to stay a week and enjoy the golfing. An outside private patio opened on to the putting course, available to guests. Breakfast was in the main building, and served a wide array of morning treats.

Room Tip: I would think any room on the grounds would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Quail Lodge is a great find in Carmel!! Every person we met working there went out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a gorgeous view over the golf course (and the bathroom was huge!). The remodel really upgraded every square inch of the property from the bathrooms to the landscaping. Eating breakfast on the deck overlooking the water was perfect. I would love to get back to the Quail Lodge as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course - we loved it and it gives you even more privacy (althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night when passing through Carmel. Beautifully kept hotel with lots of fun things to do. We stayed here specifically to get a round of golf in too, golf course was well maintained and a lot of fun. Dined in Edgar's which was good. Wish we could have stayed another night...

Room Tip: Stay and play package is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quail Lodge & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.