We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quail Lodge & Golf Club to your Saves list
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
DC Metro and Wilmington NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My family spent four relaxing days at Quail Lodge. Convenient to everything without any parking hassles. Large room with two queen beds and a window seat that is the size of a single bed that one of my daughters actually slept on. It was nice to have a little elbow room after having spent a couple mights in downtown SF.

My wife enjoyed the workout rooms, my kids liked the pool (although it could have been five degrees warmer) and I putted a bit. Our room was very quiet and the grounds felt very safe. I would have no problem allowing a preteen to wander around. The bathrooms and shower were really nice and the entire room was very clean.

The complimentary breakfast was nicer than most continental breakfasts but was merely pretty good. Overall the only negative was that our AC didn't work but we didn't really need it except for one afternoon when four people and a bunch of wet towels made the room a bit stuffy. We did call and someone came by and fiddled with the thermostat just as I had done but I never felt any cold air. The outside air temp cooled enough that by the time we came back from dinner we no longer needed the AC.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    52
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
71
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Quail Lodge. Suite 283 had a gorgeous patio and view of the golf course. It was quiet, very clean and very comfortable. Continental breakfast was good, all organic foods and lots of fruit options. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this lodge for a relaxing visit to Carmel!

Room Tip: Suite 283 had a gorgeous patio and view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We, a family of 5 booked a “suite with king-size-bed” at the Quail Lodge for 2 nights on our California round trip.
It was very spacious for the 5 of us and our luggage. The suite was very clean.
There was one very big room like a living room, with TV, desk, armchair and a sofa that you could turn into a bed (approx. queen-size), then we also had a roll-away bed there as well, this worked out ok for the children (age 9 to 13).
Next room was also very big with a king-size bed and the possibility to go outside and sit in a small garden.
Bathroom was big as well and here was the surprise - a fridge and a coffeemaker!
Everything was up to this point was super fine but I really do not like the idea of a fridge (where I put my food and drinks) and a coffeemaker in the bathroom.
Breakfast was a quick walk away from our room in the lobby area, there was a small selection of bread, homemade jam, fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here on a father/son trip to play golf at Pebble Beach. Didn't want to pay the $700 per night to stay at Pebble so we found Quail Lodge and read the great reviews. They were accurate! Huge, newly renovated rooms. Great pool. Free breakfast in the morning. By far, the best value in the Carmel/Monterrey area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The grounds are immaculately kept. Nice plantings all thru the property. It even has a 9 hole putting course with is kept as nice as the adjoining golf course. Our room was large and spacious (Rm 125). Sets in a nice garden with view of the duck filled pond and the 14th fairway. One of the nicest rooms we have add for a moderate rate. Continental breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. It had the normal choices. Comfortable bed. Mostly quiet even with a major road not too far away. Had some noise from next door but fan drowned that out. Definitely would return. Great & Friendly staff. All hotels should train their folks to be this nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 125 is a great location and comfortable. No road noise in the room. Nice view in garden setti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Checked in on Christmas day, great staff and property. Meticulously maintained and well laid out property. Large room for a single or a couple with an oversize bathroom and patio area overlooking the putting green.. Short drive to downtown Carmel close to shopping center with a supermarket. Staff was friendly and accommodating, the lobby and bar area were welcoming and service was attentive. Morning breakfast off of the lobby was well stocked and exceeded my expectations. Workout area and swimming pool were well kept though I did not take advantage of either on this trip. Edgars at the golf club have excellent food and cocktails; had the unforgettable Quinoa pasta macaroni and cheese.The only issues that I had was a small "pantry" near the lobby, the ash tray on my patio was not emptied (but it was during the busy holiday time) and the pro shop seemed to be eternally closed. Overall an excellently maintained and appointed property with an excellent restaurant and great service. Outstanding value, will stay again and have recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed this property as part of a work conference. The property is beautifully landscaped and well-kept. The facilities are excellent. The pool area is small but nice. Unfortunately there was no sauna on property as I read online, though not on their site. The rooms seem spacious, very well-kept, and comfortable. My only real issue was my room being next to the main road. I certainly could hear traffic through the walls. I would try and avoid the rooms in the 180s.

The food provided was superb, with mostly organic products. Golf course is beautiful and well-kept, though I didn't play. Overall I would consider coming back here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quail Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quail Lodge & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.