We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quail Lodge & Golf Club to your Saves list
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Ventura, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I think the Quail Lodge was recently renovated. We were in one of the basic, dog friendly rooms. Calling it basic doesn't really fit. It was very large with comfy beds and a well appointed bathroom. There was a nice patio with table and chairs. It also had a mini fridge and a Keurig coffee maker.

There is a basic but adequate fitness facility, Bocci Ball court and a nice pool. A continental breakfast is also included.

We were here for a conference that my wife attended. "She Who Must Be Obeyed" said the food served at the conference was the best she's had. Although we didn't eat at the on site restaurant (Edgar's) it's probably safe to say that if they can do an outstanding job for a large group, their regular dinner service must be good.

It's a very dog-friendly property. There is a one time fee per dog regardless of the length of stay. They provide a "doggie bag" with a blanket, stuffed toy and collapsible water dish. CharlyDog (A.K.A Dogzilla) really enjoyed his stay.

Room Tip: Even though our room was closest to Carmel Valley Road, it was still very quiet. I doubt that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    55
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
77
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were very impressed with this property. The room was exceptionally large and well appointed. We had both a large bedroom with a gas fireplace and a large living room. Both rooms had enormous TVs (though we didn't use them). The bathroom was also very large.

The living room had a lovely window seat with lots of pillows. We also had a very nice patio.

The property does not purport to be full service. We were fine with that. The breakfast was simple but it had what we needed and there was no waiting. And when we got back from breakfast, the room had already been cleaned (at around 9 am!).

We would definitely stay here again assuming the rates stay within the same range.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Going from a small cabin stay in Big Sur to a giant garden view suite at the Quail Lodge was great! We stayed for 2 nights January 17th-19th both were perfect! I was a little skeptical booking such a nice looking suite for a mere $210 per night, but I am extremely happy I did!

Room Tip: Garden View Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I went in early November 2013. We chose this hotel because we signed up for the Land Rover experience. They have self parking outside and you walk to your room from the outside. It felt more like a private retreat. We hardly saw anybody else. I think our King room was attached to only one other room. We had a private patio in front. The room was clean, spacious and didn't have a musty smell. The bed was very comfortable. There's even a dining area, like a breakfast nook/reading area. We used that to eat dinner one night and it was perfect for a toddler. Bathroom is very spacious!! They have shampoo, conditioner and body wash in dispensers. That's the first time I've seen that! The hotel is a few minutes from downtown Carmel. There's nothing around for you to walk to. However, this didn't bother us. We will definitely come back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here just one night driving from northern cal to LA. It's a beautiful property and owned by the Peninsula Group in Hongkong so we had high expectations. The room was beautiful and large, the bedding wonderful and the bathroom excellent. There were numerous places to plug in my many devices. The only issues were there was a great gas fire place in the room and the pilot light made a crackling sound all night (we got used to that) but the serious issue is there is a frosted glass window next to the entry door and the outside walkway is lit up all night, so the light actually shined into the room all night and the room never became dark! A darker frosted glass would solve that problem. A minor issue was in our room 143 we had a great balcony overlooking the pool but a pepper tree completely blocked the view; it really should be trimmed. Overall a great hotel and the staff was excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is ~5miles inland from Carmel. Grounds are very beautiful; rooms & bathrooms are spacious with no nonsense comfortable interior. I felt very lucky we didn't stay in Monterey or Carmel: we paid short visits to both towns for lunch and brief shopping. It was cold and foggy, while we enjoyed beatiful sun and seventy+ weather. We don't play golf, but the property is great for walks.
The hotel and a shopping mall across the street offer very limited options for meals & snacks. Plenty of shops/ restaraunts/ grocery stores within 3-5 miles.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Recently stayed here for a weekend and has such a pleasant time. It's a very nice and well-maintained resort. I loved the grounds - it felt secluded, quiet and very peaceful. I liked that it's not as big of a resort as say Carmel Valley Ranch (although I still love CVR). It felt more intimate and felt like we had the place to ourselves. Enjoyed the amenities - fitness center, heated pool and complimentary continental breakfast. The room we stayed was in great condition and very spacious. Staff were attentive and nice but stayed out of your way which I liked. Also liked the location - you can easily access Carmel Valley Road and Cabrillo Highway if you want go by the sea. There are also some wineries/tasting rooms nearby - one of them, Boete Tasting Room is only steps away from the lodge. Overall, a very nice and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quail Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quail Lodge & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.