We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ridiculously expensive, not worth your money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nico

Nico
Carmel by the sea, Carmel, CA
Update restaurant details
Ranked #70 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“ridiculously expensive, not worth your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

i have to admit that the restaurant itself has a romantic atmosphere. but the food is not worth your money. we had one seafood pizza, salad with goatcheese and a bottle of the cheapest red wine (pinot noir for > 40 dollars!!!) and paid 108 dollars!!!!
i am willing to pay high prices for high quality but this was just ridiculous. no spices on the pizza, the dough itself reminded me of deep-frozen pizzas i ate thousands of them when i was on college.
also the wine list is far too expensive!
and: a tip of more than 20 percent was added to the bill automatically. for whatever reason.
just avoid this place!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    9
    2
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Foreigners beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The service was terrible from the beginning, the waiter was called Yves he had a really bad attitude, when the bill came we had 20% gratuity included and we were a party of for, so I went to the manager/owner and he immediately took it off but Yves said that because FOREIGNERS usually don't tip, that's why he added the gratuity.
Take notice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Def worth a visit but make sure you book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

2 week holiday in California and this was by far the best meal. One of the few restaurants, if not the only one I would have to return to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great service and atmosphere. I wanted sand dabs so did a search for "best sand dabs, Carmel"
Was not disappointed. I couldn't decide between piccata and romanesca so was offered a combo. YUM! The bread is wonderful and the sun-dried tomato dipping sauce was beyond description. We also ordered roasted garlic and pear/arugula salad. Everything was so good I was almost too full to enjoy the main course....but I did anyway! My friend had the spinach pasta and did not care for it but since I didn't try it I can't comment. We both agreed the service and everything else was superb and would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DavidYnz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great food, my wife and I always enjoy eating here when we visit Carmel. They serve you a lot of food and they serve you with confidence because of how good the food is. Great place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.