We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nico

Nico
Carmel by the sea, Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great service and atmosphere. I wanted sand dabs so did a search for "best sand dabs, Carmel"
Was not disappointed. I couldn't decide between piccata and romanesca so was offered a combo. YUM! The bread is wonderful and the sun-dried tomato dipping sauce was beyond description. We also ordered roasted garlic and pear/arugula salad. Everything was so good I was almost too full to enjoy the main course....but I did anyway! My friend had the spinach pasta and did not care for it but since I didn't try it I can't comment. We both agreed the service and everything else was superb and would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    11
    6
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DavidYnz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great food, my wife and I always enjoy eating here when we visit Carmel. They serve you a lot of food and they serve you with confidence because of how good the food is. Great place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bet Sand Dabs in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The benchmark for Sand Dabs are the ones served at the famous Tadich Grill in San Francisco. Anyone who has experienced them knows they are an extremely delicate fish that must be pan fried with a minimum of breading. So it was a great disappointment on a recent visit to Carmel to have Sand Dabs in three different restaurants that were all served with a breading so heavy you could barely taste the fish. At Nico, our fourth try, we only risked ordering them because the owner swore he used a minimum of breading. The result? Dusted with flour and pan fried with cherry tomatoes and fresh herbs, these are the best Sand Dabs we've tasted since the Tadich Grill many years ago. As an appetizer, we ordered the pear and arugula salad with a very light blue cheese vinaigrette--a spectacular success. Maybe the food at Nico is so good because the owner is heavily involved in the operation. He aids his waiters in clearing the tables and is always ready to answer questions and give his opinions about menu items. The only reason Nico doesn't get an excellent rating is its wine list. There are no wines by the glass and of the 40 wines on the list, only 9 are under $40. and none are under $33.
So although the food is reasonably priced, if you drink wine, it's going to be an expensive dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nico's has new owners and while it was a week night and quiet, it filled up as we were leaving. Service was quick, so much so we had to tell them we hadn't see our friend so we'll be chatting a bit. Food was excellent and we would recommend it as always.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.