We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too "let's be rich" feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea
Ocean Avenue, On Ocean Ave. Between Lincoln and Monte Verde, Carmel, CA
831/626-2913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Watsonville, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A little too "let's be rich" feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It's lovely to visit, but I don't like buying anything there ... most items are just too, too, too over-priced. But it's definitely worth seeing and experiencing. We live 30 miles away, and it's nice to visit and see how other people spend their money! :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everything you imagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sure there are tourists everywhere, but the town is quaint, pretty and an art lovers dream. The food is expensive, but some of the best. The water front beach stunning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Postcard Pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very quaint, picturesque. Trendy, oooohhh laa laaa... I wish we could have spent more time here. We will definitely go back and do more exploring there and in the Valley. It was gorgeous!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Up and then Down or...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Down and then Up...What's a traveller to do? I suggest that if you can find easy-access parking downtown, then park and walk in town. Then when you have the need for sand -in-your-shoes, give up your space downtown and go down to the beach and find another spot. That way, you will have experienced a commute...hahaha Not really. Just move along and see everything before your plane leaves. I suggest that you watch a sunset at the beach at the foot of Ocean Ave at least once in your life...then wait 3 minutes after the sun sets and watch another of GOD's delights. Best with a bit of clouds in the sky.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I really love walking around, checking out all the boutiques and art galleries. Such fun relaxing place to walk around at. Such a pretty downtown at night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.