We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Balena

La Balena
Junipero between 5th and 6th, West Side, Carmel, CA
831.250.6295
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 148 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a small very busy restaurant in Carmel. The food was excellent. There were 5 of us and we all ordered an entree and split 5 apps. The octopus is a must order. The Osso Buco entree was amazing! Best lamb I've ever had. The desserts were ok. Wine list was great. Our waiter even let us try a bottle only wine when we were trying to decide if we wanted it or another bottle and he was completely ok when we chose the other bottle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    20
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was very busy but my server was here and there. The octopus was good, but my main was undercooked. Would not come back for the price of the food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Charming Gourmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved that the locals eat here and cherish it. The pasta is home made. The Osso Buca was great as was the the pork loin. The waiter was attentive and the ambiance of this small place was just charming.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I'm sad I don't live closer! Simply wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fresh and tasty food, helpful and friendly staff, comfortable and warm setting! Please stop by and tell the owner the couple from New Jersey/Manhattan Beach sent you! (I promised I would spread the word!)
The fried green tomatoes are deliciously coated in corn crumbs, the broccolini and potatoes are crispy and flavorful. The pasta is fresh, the soup is hearty...I could go on and on. And we brought Murphy, our dog, who was warmly welcomed by everyone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“This restaurant is awesome for any person that knows real italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

try the Octopus app and the Osso Buco, they are simply amazing. the personnel is fun and dilligent.

It id not appear on the GPS, but is easy to find. Junipero St between 5th and 6th.

best in the Monterey area by far.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Balena also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to La Balena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Balena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.