We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hog's Breath Inn

Hog's Breath Inn
San Carlos St & 5TH Ave, Carmel, CA 93923
+1 831-625-1044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 149 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The legend of Carmel. Formerly owned by Clint Eastwood, he still owns the building-who knows when he will stop by? Kept intact to keep the charm that is the cozy Carmel of yesteryear.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited here in September, unaware of its 'Clint' connections till afterwards. We sat in the patio area and loved it - very atmospheric. Not the warmest of evenings but the open fire and heaters made it very pleasant to sit around. We both had steak and it was one of the best I've ever had - melt in the mouth type. Couldn't be faulted. Staff pleasant and friendly and we would have returned the following evening but a large lunch at the nearby Pebble Beach golf club out paid to that!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    126
    66
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eldersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Carmel is Beautiful, the Hog's Breath Inn is So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place became famous because Clint Eastwood used to be the owner. Clint is no longer the owner and the place is living off is past connection. The outdoor seating area is nice and very popular, although I don't want to share a $50 entrée while a dog is seated at the next table. I like dogs, and I can understand that some people want them along at a coffee shop, but I just don't think fine dining and dogs are a good blend. My wife had a steak that was over-cooked, and that's not a good thing to do to an average cut of meat. The asparagus was under-cooked and under-seasoned. The garlic mashed potatoes were average at best. My Ahi Tuna was cooked perfectly. The rice noodle cake that it was served on offered an excellent flavor and texture contrasts. With no drinks or dessert, and a bill of $100, the Hog's Breath Inn is a stop you should consider passing up. :-(

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Steak up there with some of the best we have had! Baby back ribs amazing... And the cocktails were sublime! Great night out, on the patio, by the fire - best!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The atmosphere of the patio was great but I've definitely have had better a steak. Wish I would have spent my last night in CA eating dinner elsewhere. The service was not that great either, would have had another glass of wine but didn't feel like hunting down the waiter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Not a good experience. Stopped for a quick lunch and discovered they were out of both the appetiser and wine that we had ordered. Indifferent service just made it worse. With so many great places in Carmel they need to up their game.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Inn also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Hog's Breath Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog's Breath Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.