We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hog's Breath Inn

Hog's Breath Inn
San Carlos St & 5TH Ave, Carmel, CA 93923
+1 831-625-1044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The legend of Carmel. Formerly owned by Clint Eastwood, he still owns the building-who knows when he will stop by? Kept intact to keep the charm that is the cozy Carmel of yesteryear.
hartlepool
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Enjoyed a relaxing couple of hours with perfect Californian wine and a couple of starters from the happy hour menu. Great way to pass the hours

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    116
    64
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived late afternoon in Carmel, and after having a free wine tasting session in our hotel, (Wayfarer Inn), we decided to go into Carmel for a bite to eat. Had heard of this place, so we decided to find it and try it out.
Looking at the menu we decided to have the traditional burgers.
When shown to our table, we realised we has been looking atthe lunch menu, as the supper menu was quite a lot more expensive and didnt have the burger. We explained our oversight to our waiter, who was more than happy to let us have the lunch time menu. (dont know of many other places, that would do that).
Meal was great, large portions as you expect in USA, very tasty loads of it.
Washed down with a few beers, and lovely meal was had by all.
Good value for money, clean and pleasant surrounding.
Friendly and very efficient servive.
A good place to eat..you wont be diss-appointed

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love Clint, atmostphere was great, food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband had only one request when we vacationed in Monterey, and that was to eat that the Hog's Breath Inn, just because it is Clint Eastwood's restaurant. I was game. We loved the rustic feeling and decor, and it was chilly enough the day we went that they had the fireplaces going. So that added a nice touch. However, the food and service were just okay, really nothing to rave about. I had the Monterey Chicken Club - chicken was dry and really detracted from the rest of my sandwich. And just because of the name, my husband had the Dirty Harry burger - but all the flavor was cooked out of the burger. How does that happen??

Anyways, if you're a big Clint Eastwood fan, it doesn't hurt to try the place - maybe you'll have better luck with the food as it seems other people have. Location in itself was great - and a little of the main road. Be sure to look for the sign, and the actual restaurant is towards the back in like this little alleyway. The price also seemed pretty reasonable for the area. Oh, and on nice days, they have outdoor seating available too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Spot in Carmel, Ca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

They say this is Clint Eastwood's Restaurant in California. Very nice outdoor seating and a great prime beef sandwich and salad. Check it out and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Happy Hour"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very good food ! Great Service ! Happy Hour Menu is very affordable & generous. Indoor or patio dining, fireplaces & rustic comfortable setting. Highly recommend this dining experience ! Hope to return & try more of the excellent cuisine !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Inn also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Hog's Breath Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog's Breath Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;