We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy chips and salsa and sea bass!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 1962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Enjoy chips and salsa and sea bass!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

SERVICE
- A mere 5 minutes after arrival with a reservation
- Quick to refill our waters.
- Nice that the owner came by to chat

AMBIENCE
- A little difficult to find (Hint: the entrance is down the stairs)
- Small and cozy
- Unique decor of flying fish upon entry
- Small but clean bathroom

FOOD
- Addicting won ton chips and ginger salsa
- Almond-crusted sea bass was my favorite! Perfectly cooked fresh fish!
- Rare Peppered ahi was good, but just not as tasty as the sea bass

PRICE
- A little on the pricier side, but worth it for fresh seafood.

Nice date spot. Would definitely come back here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    75
    35
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A fun unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is our second visit and while the first was outstanding, this time was magic. We can strongly recommend the unique Clay Pot Dinner that was cooked at our table for 2 or more persons. We were a party of six which made the experience even more enjoyable.You can have seafood or beef, fresh vegetables, tofu, mushrooms, rice noodles, cooked in broth, all served with various dipping sauces and steamed rice. Not only is it a taste experience but healthy too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Don't let the stairs down to the lower level deter you. One of the best tuna dishes I have ever had. Friendly efficient service!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cozy place & delicious/creative food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Based on reviews by other TripAdvisor reviewers, my husband and I went to dinner at Flying Fish Grill. We made reservations and were very glad we had, because they were very busy on a weekend night (this was right after Christmas when Carmel is packed with tourists). The food was delicious. The won tons and "salsa" are so good. I seriously need the recipe. For our entree, my husband ordered the tuna and I got the almond crusted sea bass. Although both dishes were excellent, I have to say I wouldn't reorder the sea bass (I kinda hoped for a little more seasoning) because it was so overshadowed by the sauce and serving of the tuna. It was tempting to overlook manners and lick my husband's plate.

Overall layout of the restaurant...kinda an old-school Japanese steakhouse flare with wood slat walls and private little "nooks" for the tables. Lighting lowered, but maybe because it was Christmastime and they had hung little white lights everywhere. Charming. Not a big place, but it feels somewhat private. I thought the prices were fair for the amount of food served.

We did not order dessert, but rather strolled the Carmel town streets since the weather was decidedly beautiful (just needed a light jacket).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Convenient Choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The fresh clean flavored "salsa" with the fried wonton was delicious. The fresh steamed artichoke with two dipping sauces was very good. The Nikumaki (green onion beef roll) was excellent. The entrée tempura prawns and vegetables were good but not rave-worthy. The almond sea bass served with an oyster sauce and fishy tasting rock shrimp over mashed potatoes was just OK and plating over the potatoes was a bit odd. Skip dessert if the chocolate cake is chosen - ersatz flavors to both the chocolate and the raspberry sauce. The restaurant has a funky coziness - like being in a ship's hold. A convenient choice every couple of visits to Carmel if you are a frequent visitor staying nearby..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.