We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient Choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 1962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Convenient Choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The fresh clean flavored "salsa" with the fried wonton was delicious. The fresh steamed artichoke with two dipping sauces was very good. The Nikumaki (green onion beef roll) was excellent. The entrée tempura prawns and vegetables were good but not rave-worthy. The almond sea bass served with an oyster sauce and fishy tasting rock shrimp over mashed potatoes was just OK and plating over the potatoes was a bit odd. Skip dessert if the chocolate cake is chosen - ersatz flavors to both the chocolate and the raspberry sauce. The restaurant has a funky coziness - like being in a ship's hold. A convenient choice every couple of visits to Carmel if you are a frequent visitor staying nearby..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    68
    33
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort worth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Walked out....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Small, dingy, and crowded. Service was fine and the appetizers were very good.
However, the tables/booths were tightly packed. You could hear every conversation in the room and it felt like the folks in the next booth were sitting in my chair. I could feel every weight shift of the diner behind me. Wine list was laughable. Ate our appetizers and got out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritou Tera, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply, one of the finest food experiences one could ever hope for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I use the word "simply" here cautiously, but deliberately. Simple, yes....simplistic, emphatically no! The ingredients ARE simply pure and fresh, fresh, fresh. But the levels of flavor and texture are anything but simplistic. There is a complexity achieved here with the fewest ingredients that defies logic. An example is the almond encrusted sea bass, where I tend to gravitate to when not hunkering down with a partner over the shabu-shabu. The cloak of organic shaved almonds keeps the fish's natural moisture internal, at the same time creating a lightly toasted exterior that accentuates not masks, the natural piscatorial sweetness. I emphasize that all the preparations are designed to bring the natural key flavors to the fore. If you are going to pay $29 for a piece of fresh sea bass, then let it sing on the plate--and indeed, here it does, sing. The same can be said for the unctuously flavorsome tuna tartare, a preparation now regularly found on many menus, but usually so overlain with spices, oils and other ingredients, all seemingly designed to hide the tuna!--not here, the beautifully fresh and light tuna, is the star, as well it should be. I have a particular nostalgia for their shabu-shabu, as this was a favorite from more than 35 years ago, when my parents and family would come here and revel in this marvelous one pot ambrosia which at the time was very new to US diners. If anything, over the decades, chef Kenny Fukumoto has perfected this Japanese classic to even greater heights. The beef is superlative, so rich with beef flavor as to bring tears to your eyes, and the dipping sauces are simply classic, or classically simple, as you prefer.

No pretenses, no hype, no contrived "atmosphere"....just beautifully prepared pure ingredients at their very finest! the subterranean Japanese inn-like warm wooden interiors and booths, which remain in tact from the early days, seem so natural and unaffected. I cannot think of another restaurant on the Monterey Peninsula that pays such homage to its customers by the respectful way they treat their ingredients. Worthy of 5 Stars! No, if I could, I would give them 10 stars. Brava a tutti !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Personal touch / Chef owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had New Year eve dinner at this quaint restaurant in Carmel.

We had reservations and were seated promptly upon arrival. We were seated in a semi private alcove with 2 tables. Our server immediately greeted us and asked for our drink requests. My daughter asked for apple juice ( which they did not have ) and my wife asked for ginger ale ( which they did not have ). Our server then went out to purchase these 2 items at a local store... I have not ever had this happen in Los Angeles where I live. I was impressed!

Unfortunately, we were seated next to a very loud table ( some might call obnoxious ). Normally, this would affect my enjoyment of the meal and evening. However, the owned made the situation very acceptable. He made regular visits to our table to lighten up the mood. Also, our server was great... food and beverage service was impeccable. We ordered 3 different fish dishes ( sea bass, salmon, and ahi). Each was superbly prepared.

I enjoy dinners at restaurants where the owner is committed to excellence. Flying Fish fits into this category!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Only a dedicated owner can insure this kind of quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Small, subdued elegance, privacy, cozy with the owner and his wife over seeing everything make for great service and a wonderful place to eat. All this sets the stage for a great eating experience.
We had the Carmel Valley mixed greens salad, fresh& delicious and the California tower, great Dungess crab entre. Followed by the black bean halibut, very juicy, with great flavor. Also the Alasken black cod, oh so tender and we'll prepared.
All this with great service under the watchful eye of the owners, Tina & Carrie. Can't go wrong with a restaurant that has been in business for over 30 years and the owner there everyday!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.