We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Flying Seafood..........worth the experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 1962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“High Flying Seafood..........worth the experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I guess my Review Title says it all. But really, the previous Trip Advisor reviews are accurate.
We had the Seafood Pasta and the Black Bean Halibut; both were excellent choices. The clever décor and atmosphere lend to a wonderful overall experience. This should be on anyone's `Go To' List.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    80
    36
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Carmel At It's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This excellent restaurant is a "must" for seafood lovers. Begin your meal with the delightful lightly gingered tomato salsa served with fried won tons and move on to an amazing appetizer, such as their deconstructed California roll. The main courses are creative and perfectly prepared. For example, the Alaskan Black Cod, a fish that's easy for restaurants to overcook, was moist, delicate, and served with a light and flavorful papaya/avocado/links salsa, which enhanced the flavor of this fresh fish. The wait staff was spot on. The wine list was excellent. We are looking forward to our next trip to Carmel and the Flying Fish will be on our list of "must do."

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible menu, preparation, and flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wish I could go back once a week :) The food was delicious and the atmosphere and energy were great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Make reservations for this restaurant. Went here for are first year anniversary wasn't what I wanted but still had a great dinning environment and experience. We ordered the Clay Pot which was a fresh seafood soup you cook yourself. Although it was good I wish we would have ordered other things on the menu. I will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Flying Fish was recommended by our hotel and was a great choice for dinner. Not sure if we hit it on an off night but we found the wait staff to be just ok. The food, however, made up for it. Great choices of interestingly prepared very fresh fish

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.