We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmel At It's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 1962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carmel At It's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This excellent restaurant is a "must" for seafood lovers. Begin your meal with the delightful lightly gingered tomato salsa served with fried won tons and move on to an amazing appetizer, such as their deconstructed California roll. The main courses are creative and perfectly prepared. For example, the Alaskan Black Cod, a fish that's easy for restaurants to overcook, was moist, delicate, and served with a light and flavorful papaya/avocado/links salsa, which enhanced the flavor of this fresh fish. The wait staff was spot on. The wine list was excellent. We are looking forward to our next trip to Carmel and the Flying Fish will be on our list of "must do."

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    262
    58
    30
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible menu, preparation, and flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wish I could go back once a week :) The food was delicious and the atmosphere and energy were great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Make reservations for this restaurant. Went here for are first year anniversary wasn't what I wanted but still had a great dinning environment and experience. We ordered the Clay Pot which was a fresh seafood soup you cook yourself. Although it was good I wish we would have ordered other things on the menu. I will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Flying Fish was recommended by our hotel and was a great choice for dinner. Not sure if we hit it on an off night but we found the wait staff to be just ok. The food, however, made up for it. Great choices of interestingly prepared very fresh fish

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we're glad we did. This is an Asian fusion style restaurant. The decor reminded me of a restaurant I had visited in Tokyo several years ago. The hosts were friendly. Our waitress was quick and very friendly too. Food was outstanding. My wife and I both had seafood and both felt it was outstanding. Highly recommended. We went mid week in early September. We had a reservation for an early dinner, but didn't need it. We had no trouble finding a parking space at about 5:00 pm, while we did a little window shopping before dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.