We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes all the reviews are correct, a top notch restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 1962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“yes all the reviews are correct, a top notch restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Along with my teenage kids, we had dinner at the Flying Fish based on the Trip advisor recommendations. It was simply awesome. Tempura, dungeness crab, salmon combined with well priced wines made for an excellent evening and I would certainly visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    84
    36
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited Carmel with friends last weekend and this was our favorite meal of the trip! Loved the wooden interior... food and service... top notch! Would visit again, even with many other options for dining in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is tiny. Its food is wonderful. I tried the black cod, something you usually can't find on the East Coast. I explained my dietary restrictions to the owner who was more than forthcoming. The service was both excellent and informal.
This was a really fine California seafood restaurant, with Asian overtones. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant is located right on Mission so it's central to everything in Carmel. However, it is set back from the street and actually below street level. For those seeking dramatic views of Carmel, this isn't it.

We were surprised by how small the restaurant was considering how popular it is on T/A.

We ended up conversing w/people sitting on both sides of our table.

The service was laid back, informative and quite attentive.

The food was excellent. It is extremely (as one could guess from the name) fish-centric but they did have a couple of non-fish options.

The quality of the food, the preperation and presentation were outstanding. I had the seared ahi and my wife had the seabass. We had a crab appetizer that was an amazingly generous serving.

Wine options were good and the prices quite reasonable. It's not hard to see why this place has garnered the accolades.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant on the peninsula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Asian fusion seafood. A beautiful wooden interior lovingly designed and built by the chef/owner. Excellent food and atmosphere. What more do you need?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.