We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 1962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant is located right on Mission so it's central to everything in Carmel. However, it is set back from the street and actually below street level. For those seeking dramatic views of Carmel, this isn't it.

We were surprised by how small the restaurant was considering how popular it is on T/A.

We ended up conversing w/people sitting on both sides of our table.

The service was laid back, informative and quite attentive.

The food was excellent. It is extremely (as one could guess from the name) fish-centric but they did have a couple of non-fish options.

The quality of the food, the preperation and presentation were outstanding. I had the seared ahi and my wife had the seabass. We had a crab appetizer that was an amazingly generous serving.

Wine options were good and the prices quite reasonable. It's not hard to see why this place has garnered the accolades.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SBPinotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant on the peninsula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Asian fusion seafood. A beautiful wooden interior lovingly designed and built by the chef/owner. Excellent food and atmosphere. What more do you need?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Well, thanks all the other recommendations from the other travelers who recommended going here otherwise I wouldn't have. Rich the owner of the place was nothing but helpful when I arrived earlier than my reservation. I felt like I just wanted to see if I could get an earlier, however since the food was outstanding now I know why. They have about 15 tables and let me tell you, if your going to Carmel I wouldn't think twice about going anywhere else but here. I had the almond bass words can't explain how delicious it was and I ended it with a banana sundae. I changed my up a little but you couldn't beat the ice cream or the home-made hot fudge, OUT OF THIS WORLD. I HIGHLY recommend calling for a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Eating here was a beautifull experience. Everything was perfect, kind service, supergood food. Very good wine list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kleren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Timeless Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been coming to is restaurant for 15 years and it always is one of our favorite meals in Carmel.

The menu never changes and why change it when everything on the menus is wonderful? Everything is fresh and cooked perfectly and served by friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Parbuster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing