We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
831 625 1962
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Eating here was a beautifull experience. Everything was perfect, kind service, supergood food. Very good wine list.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    80
    36
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Timeless Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been coming to is restaurant for 15 years and it always is one of our favorite meals in Carmel.

The menu never changes and why change it when everything on the menus is wonderful? Everything is fresh and cooked perfectly and served by friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Loved loved loved this place. ESP when they cook food right in front of you. Small so make reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Subarashii, nee! (Truly wonderful, *yes*!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We started with the nikumaki (green onion roll) and steamed artichoke (and the wasabi and miso vinaigrette highlights are delightful), then ordered the almond crusted sea bass and the grilled salmon. It was a special meal together with family before I returned to my work in Asia, and was a wonderful way to share with them some of my favorite Japanese flavors without going all the way back to Japan to do so!

Not everyone gets to The Flying Fish via automobile: As for us, we Midwesterners had taken a Gray Line tour of the Monterey/Carmel area (highly recommended, by the way, for those visiting this area without a vehicle, and who are more interested in the scenery than in figuring out the highways), and we had 90 minutes to "find lunch". Upon walking down the steps and seeing the gorgeous oceanfront views, we spotted The Flying Fish Grill. In a flash, we could smell the delicious Japanese culinary fragrances wafting in the air, and we immediately agreed to go in to see how long the wait would be before we could be seated. We were pleasantly surprised by being seated in no more than 5 minutes after arriving! *Now* (after seeing that so many other travellers have discovered the Fukumotos' restaurant), it would be ***much*** wiser to have a reservation *before* arriving!

Have also recommended the Flying Fish to work colleagues and others across the country (some who live in the same area, and who had *no* idea it was even there! If this place were in *my* backyard, I would be over there *constantly*!). If you love fresh seafood, Asian cuisine, and excellent service, wait no more: "fly" over to the Flying Fish ASAP!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose The Flying Fish based on Trip Advisor reviews. The wonton and ginger salsa they serve when you are seated was amazing. We are still talking about it! The combination of the buttery wontons and all the flavors in the ginger salsa... It was perfection! I ordered the black bean halibut after reading the rave reviews on T.A. I did not regret it, it was suburb. My husband ordered the seared ahi which had the most amazing miso-ginger sauce. We topped it off with a green tea sundae. Every bite of our meal was outstanding! Our server, Gabrielle, was lovely and the whole atmosphere was really special. I loved that the owner came around to check in and make sure we were happy. We had a great experience and can't wait to return! Also, make sure you make reservations beforehand!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.