We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quaint, Local Inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Inn

Save Saved
You added Coachman's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coachman's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos at Seventh, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Martinez, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean, Quaint, Local Inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great Inn, right downtown, with large, nicely decorated rooms. Clean and quaint with a nice little breakfast delivered right to your room! Rooms are very bright and well lit. Our room had a fireplace which was a nice touch (although we had incredibly nice weather and didn't use it). Perfect location downtown, you can walk anywhere you need to go, especially nice if you are seeing a performance at the Sunset Center (about a block away). Only a couple of minor issues, the fireplace was somewhat noisy (made a humming sound) even when not in use and the mattress and pillows could have been a bit plusher (mattress was on the hard side and no choice in pillows). I know, minor issues, I guess I'm use to staying at larger hotels that have pillow top mattresses and pillow choices. One Very Positive note (if you are a smoker) is that the Inn is SMOKER FRIENDLY! The rooms are 'no smoking', but there are ashtrays in the open/common areas outside the rooms, a VERY PLEASANT surprise with all the 'smoke hater' hotels now in operation that don't allow any smoking on their property!

Room Tip: The third floor is the top floor so you don't need to worry about noisy neighbors above you. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We do have special mattresses but from what we have found in all of our travels, there is no one single mattress that is a good fit for everyone (we have received a lot of great feedback on ours but I like your suggestion about the pillows and having some different types available). Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
74
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The staff was great, told us all we need to know about the Monterey Peninsula. The rooms were clean and the complimentary breakfast was a plus. It is centrally located so walking around was easy breezy! The bed was VERY big and comfortable. This will be my go to place in Carmel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Our front office agents know A LOT about Carmel and Monterey County. We want everyone to really explore the area and enjoy it as much as possible. Please come back and see us again sometime soon.

Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spend 3 nights at this bed and breakfast.

We just plan to stay in Carmel for one night, but we experience some difficulties with a motorcycle, the hotel staff help us a lot.

We will come back, if you stay here you will find great service in a great location in Carmel.

Ps
Love the cookies

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you Victor! Sad to see the issues with your motorcycle but glad that you were able to spend an extra couple of days with us.

Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Coachman Inn for over 15 years now. Great location, don't have to worry about parking. Friendly owners and staff. Housekeeping is fantastic. Clean and spottless rooms. They have updated the whole place a few years ago. Very dog friendly!!!
It's our go to place in Carmel.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the doggie rooms. They are located behind the Jacuzzi tower area. We love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kindness and for staying with us or all of these years! Our guests are truly like members of our family and it makes it so much fun to work here where we get to see so many friendly faces throughout the year (and years).

Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I highly recommend Coachman Inn. It's located just a couple blocks from Ocean Avenue and all the great shops in Carmel by the Sea. Rates are affordable at under $150.00 including a light breakfast. Believe me, if my wife likes this inn you will too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We love inns too - it depends on what someone traveling to the area is looking for. If you want a large hotel with 24-hr room service, a huge business center, and hundreds of rooms spread across dozens of floors, we are not for you. But if you want to experience Carmel like a local and enjoy a clean, comfortable, quaint room with modern amenities and a friendly staff, please give us a try : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Quaint is the perfect word to describe the Coachman's Inn. The rooms are spotless (rugs could be replaced). There are fireplaces in every room along with a large flat screen tv. Towels are snowy white and the king size bed was comfortable. This is not your 500 room monstrous ultra modern hotel. It's an Inn quaint with a great staff. Can't beat the location or the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are in the process of replacing some of our carpeting (and always do our best to spot treat any problem areas). Thank you for appreciating us for who we are - not a big, brass and glass hotel but a friendly,quaint place to stay right in downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over for one night on our way to Santa Barbara. Had a lovely stay. Great room that was spacious and clean, loved the fireplace and the running theme throughout the establishment. The cookies offered at 5pm are gorgeous and the breakfast is so cute. We arrived at 8pm after a long day and were checked in by a lovely lady who really went out of her way to give us maps and directions and have us our breakfast basket early (the night before) seeing as we were leaving so early the next day. Would love to stay again and would certain recommend it!!! Best service we received all holiday!

Note to those staying that the reception is only open from 8am until 9pm most days so if you will be arriving late this may cause a problem. We were lucky to arrive at 8pm and the reception was still open.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our owners have spent a lot of time shopping for just the right items for all of the rooms so that our theme ties in throughout the property. It's a labor of love - after all, who doesn't love to shop for fabrics and furnishings! We have had a couple of comments lately about our 9 AM closure. During the reservations process, we will inquire to your arrival time. If you do end up being later than 9 PM, we have an easy procedure in place to provide your keys, breakfast information, maps etc....everything you would receive when the desk is open. In the case of an emergency or any confusion, we do have a manager on duty 24 hours a day (we want to make sure you are well taken care of : ) We hope you come back and see us again sometime soon!

Karen,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn

Address: San Carlos at Seventh, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated Carmel by the sea Inn features 30 uniquely decorated and spacious rooms that provide all of the charm and ambiance of an inn with the services of a hotel. Starting with the complimentary breakfast, you will certainly enjoy all the great amenities as you visit the Sunset Center, Carmel Beach, Carmel shops, restaurants and art galleries of this gorgeous seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coachman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.