We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in downtown Carmel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Inn

Save Saved
You added Coachman's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coachman's Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   San Carlos at Seventh, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location in downtown Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel--walking distance to restaurants, shops and galleries! The bed was comfortable and the room had nice little touches: continental breakfast brought to your door in a little pail at a time you specify, jacuzzi by appointment (privacy!) and cookies and cider at 5 PM each day in the hotel lobby. Very friendly/courteous staff!! We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you SanDiego/Tahoe -- we hope to see you again soon. Carmel has been changing a bit lately with the addition of some great new restaurants, added night life and over a dozen wine tasting rooms. It's nice to be able to park at the inn and just explore. We appreciate your kindness as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
74
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here - beautifully decorated bedroom with two rocking armchairs which were so relaxing, coffee maker with little pods of coffee/hot chocolate, breakfast delivered to your door at requested time in a little pail with napkin - oj, cereals, milk, croissant then in the early evening there was apple cider & cookies from reception. Excellent location - central to town and lovely shops & restaurants nearby. Management happy to recommend local places to eat. Large ice machine half way along the top corridor behind a doorway labelled ICE. Parked up and left the car there for three days as walked everywhere in Carmel - beach, shops, restaurants and little coffee shops in shopping precinct.

Room Tip: Top floor half way along - beautiful bedding and comfy chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments! We hope to see you again soon. After reading a previous review, I was thinking that maybe our Ice Machine area needed more signage but seems like we are in good shape : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Coachman's in May 2013. The accommodations are ok, though a bit shabby around the edges. It felt clean enough, though there were a few stains in the carpet. The sound proofing of the rooms is really not very good, but generally at night it was pretty quiet. The breakfast brought to your room each morning is sufficient, but nothing exciting (OJ, mini croissant, cereal and yoghurt). The location is very good, close to the main street and restaurants. Cookies and cider in reception in the afternoon is a good boost of energy after a long day of site seeing. Room also include a mini-fridge and microwave (mini-fridge was a bit noisy at night).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! If you have a chance, we would love to hear back from you about your room number so that we can inspect that mini-frig -- it could be a simple fix from our maintenance to quiet that particular unit down. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I didn't expect much on this place for a trip with my wife, however I booked this months in advance and got the worst room possible (supposedly was the best but also the only available room(??) this childish excuse was actually given to me).
I could go on and on but just a couple of examples: there's an ice bucket in the room, no ice machine (couldn't find any!).. The vending machine shows one brand but the drinks are from the competitor (coke and Pepsi). This little obvious details show me that the most important are not taken care of.
Wouldn't return, ever!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for visiting with us in Carmel. I'm not sure if you had checked with the desk but we do have an ice machine -- it is located on the second floor - there is a door marked "ICE" - we try to keep it tucked away a little bit for sound insulation). As far as Coke and Pepsi machines, we do have two beverage vending machines with different Coke and Pepsi products - not sure I understand fully this concern. Please feel free to write me an email at karen@coachmansinn.com to fully express all of your concerns for a 1 out of 5 star rating so that we can address them - we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It very well may be that our last room left was our best room (Luxury King with in-room Jacuzzi -- sometimes those room types are the first to go and sometimes they are the last -- if there is a conference in town and people are looking for lower priced rooms first). We hope you enjoyed your time visiting all of the sites on the Monterey Peninsula and rest assured we do care about all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Management is inflexible, unpleasant & unaccommodating! Called 2 weeks ahead of busy Big Sur Marathon weekend to arrange for a 2 hour late checkout! Made a repeat request 1 week before. No follow through from management until I arrived and was informed I would have to pay an extra night's charge! Runners beware-manager said she charges all runners for another night if they are not out on time! Totally illogical reasoning from manager-something about housekeeping leaves at 4 and they couldn't possibly get my room cleaned between 2-4! After discussing how ridiculous that was, manager said she would get back to me ASAP after she gave it some thought. Rooms were available at property. After visiting the office several more times over the 2 days to inquire about her decision, she finally decided on an extra $49 charge for the 2 hours which I figured was the best I could do! The property itself is ok. Good location, clean, friendly housekeeping, etc. but definitely not worth the hassle of dealing with unreasonable/unpleasant management! Parking is also a problem but this seems to be
the case in Carmel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts. As a small inn, we do our best to be flexible with check out and check in times. Our housekeeping staff does work extremely hard and their shift ends at 4 PM. With hotels, everything is about timing and with our different room types, if we have one person in a specific room type that request a late check out and a guest arriving requesting an early check in, there is not enough time to properly clean a room (which we take great pride in). Our check out time is 11 AM and we always do our best to provide a late checkout when possible. When we have multiple rooms all requesting a late check out, timing wise, it proves impossible to get every room clean by the promised 3 PM arrival time for the next guests. Most hotels operate in the same way (in fact I stayed somewhere recently where we were told if we stayed until 1, instead of 12, we would be charged a half day rate; past 2 PM, a full day rate). Our apologies that we couldn't accommodate your request fully - again, if it was just one room out the 30 we had occupied on that Saturday night, it would have been easy to accommodate - but with many, many rooms having the same request, unless we brought in temporary housekeepers that did not know our hotel, it logistically would be impossible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Recently stayed at the Coachman's inn and had a fantastic stay. The inn is easy to find and is within one block of the main street in Carmel. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The inn is spotless througout and the rooms are well presented. Continental breakfast is left outside your room in the morning which is a nice touch. A very good place to stay if you are lucky enough to be spending some time in Carmel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Carmel is such a lovely town - and being able to walk to the beach, wine tasting rooms, shops, art galleries and restaurants and just leave the car is nice. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, 2 rooms, the week of March 12th, 2013. After a very disappointing 1 night at another hotel in Monterey, we arrived at the Coachman's Inn and asked if they had any rooms available for us, though we were without a reservation. To our delight, they did, and they saved our vacation! The rooms were spacious and clean (yes, they actually launder the comforter on the bed, unlike many other hotels!!), and the overall feeling of the inn is very rustic, romantic, and relaxing. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and made our Pomeranian that was traveling with us feel very welcome. The location was perfect for us since it is right in downtown Carmel, for we were able to walk through all the downtown shops, as well as to the beach. We highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a romantic time, or even as we did with having a family vacation. We definitely will stay here again!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the gas fireplace added a very nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What a kind review - thank you! We are glad that you found as well. Yes, we launder everything on site and our housekeepers have been with us an average of 10+ years so they do an excellent job. We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you for spreading the word.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn

Address: San Carlos at Seventh, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated Carmel by the sea Inn features 30 uniquely decorated and spacious rooms that provide all of the charm and ambiance of an inn with the services of a hotel. Starting with the complimentary breakfast, you will certainly enjoy all the great amenities as you visit the Sunset Center, Carmel Beach, Carmel shops, restaurants and art galleries of this gorgeous seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coachman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.