We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Getaway Close to Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coachman's Inn to your Saves list
Coachman's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos Street, Between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Vacaville, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint Getaway Close to Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Coachman's Inn is a wonderful location for a couple seeking that quiet getaway in Carmel. Walking distance to almost everything, except maybe the main beach and the mission, this newly refurbished small hotel is in 5 star condition. Our fireplace inn was very much enjoyed as we spent two wonderful nights here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Like most of Carmel, this is a dog friendly establishment but please advise them before you show up with your pooch. Even though I didn't do this, they still accomodated us with their last room available as long as we paid a small cleaning deposit. These rooms and the whole property are spotless. Your morning breakfast is brought to your door at the time you request, (in writing for each morning), and the pastries and juice was the best quality. No qualms about this place for me. You should consider all the above and then realize that your less than a block from the Sunset Community Center where big name entertainers love to come to play and only one block off Ocean Avenue, the "main street" of Carmel.

Room Tip: Parking is at a premium here; check in early if you can and then walk the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments. Yes, we love hosting dogs (and the owners) but we do have just part of our inn that is pet friendly so it is always a good idea to let us know in advance (especially if you want to take advantage of our pet package). We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindly,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    49
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
86
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We would like to thank the staff for a warm welcome upon our arrival. Our room was
very clean, cozy, nicely decorated and new carpet. The light breakfast provided each morning was good and delivered at times convenient for us. The location of the Coachman's Inn was within walking distance to the shops, to the beach and for our evening meals at nearby restaurants. My husband enjoyed the homemade cookies provided each afternoon. The provided parking was also a bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We found out that the corner suites have fireplaces on the 2nd floor which might be nice for a winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you and Happy Anniversary! Also, thanks for recognizing the new carpeting that was installed. Look forward to seeing you again next year!

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location is ideal; easy walk to everything in Carmel. As usual, affordable and pet friendly, with a 30 per night pet fee. little to no storage in the room, so it can get messy; pack light. no where to put your stuff in the bathroom. We love it, but you might want to avoid it until construction is done. Rooms don't ventilate too well, and bottom floor can be noisy with cars parking and leaving.

Room Tip: We like the fireplace king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Fortunately the construction is almost done and they must adhere to a strict Monday - Friday 8a-5p schedule. In the event that you are at the hotel during these hours, we have several ways to stifle the noise and please let us know how we can help in the future.

Kindly,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night visit to Carmel during Halloween. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel location (like many others there) is excellent with an abundance of dining, shopping, and beach access all within easy walking distance. While our room was impeccably clean, the carpet has long surpassed its service life and should be replaced. My only real objection to the hotel is the extremely poor insulation between rooms and floors. The hotel appeared less than half full during our first night there (Oct. 31) and it was calm, peaceful, and very enjoyable. However, on the following night the hotel was very busy and our upstairs neighbors were engaged in moderately loud conversation combined with continuous walking back and forth in their room until 2:30 in the morning. I could clearly follow their conversation and the continual heavy footsteps on our ceiling made sleeping nearly impossible until they retired.

We were on the second floor, I would not make that mistake again, and would strongly suggest that anyone staying there would demand a top level, third floor room during their stay. Of course, reduced alcohol consumption and a modicum of courtesy toward your temporary hotel neighbors would help to negate the lack of insulation between rooms and floors.

Room Tip: Poor building insulation necessitates a top level, third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear about any noise issues. In the future if you stay with us, please feel free to dial "0" for the hotel operator to let us know if there are any noise concerns so that we can address them (you are right - in any hotel, sometimes you have guest that may take their enjoyment to excessive levels). Many of the buildings in Carmel are historic and thus, the insulation is a bit different from a more modern hotel but we are looking in to ways to address this with our next remodel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the kind of place we will always remeber! Clean, cozy and with one of the best beds we have ever slept on. It is quiet and well located, with nice area for parking. We agreed with the way breakfast is delivered in order to manitain rates. Nevethelesse, we think the quality of the items could be better. But we definetely would come back and recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We recently did a focus group on our breakfast items and will be working at making improvements while maintaining our good rates.

Kindly,
Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed there for one night in September 2012. The comments about the construction work were valid. It is still ongoing. Did not bother us because were not in the room during the working hours. Payed 273$ for a one night stay. Got a 1st floor room (106) with a view straight to the street on the street level. This was very disappointing considering what we paid. The room was big and spacious. Because staying on the first floor the walking etc noises from upstairs were disturbing. Each morning at the inn, "we will hand deliver a light continental breakfast straight to your room! Wake up at your leisure and enjoy eating breakfast in the privacy of your own room or on one of our outdoor seating areas by yourself or meet up with new friends." Unfortunately this is more or less of an insult then anything else. I would definitely omit the advertisement all together of maybe try to put some more effort into it!!! Will probably not stay there next time and cannot recommend.

Room Tip: room # 106 first floor street level, expensive. Cannot recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that it was not a completely positive experience. Our light continental breakfast currently consist of orange juice, cereal (with milk), yogurt and a pastry. Although the grand majority of our guests enjoy the way this is arranged, we have had a few people wanting more of a full breakfast (we had tried this in the past but the cost made our room rates go up beyond a level we were comfortable with all of our repeat guests). It sounds like the rate you paid must have been on a highly impacted night (perhaps when most, if not all, of the hotels in town were sold out and the average rates in town are in the $200 - $300 range). Typically, our mid-week rates during September (with Indian Summer one of the busiest months of the entire year) are closer to an average of $180 plus tax. If you have a chance can you email me at info@coachmansinn.com to let me know if it was the breakfast you were disappointed with (the description) or the available seating areas. Again, I really do appreciate your input and if you give us another chance we would like to make your stay the very best possible. Karen, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have lost count of how many times I have stayed here, but make an annual trip (sometimes two) to Carmel and stay nowhere else. Centrally located to the best restaurants, great shopping, art galleries and wine tasting. Ten muinute walk to sand beach on bay. Half hour to John Steinbeck's famous Cannery Row in Monterey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for all of the years you have stayed with us! Over 80 percent of our customers are people, such as yourself, that come back 1 - 3 times a year and we consider you to be a "part of the family." Look forward to seeing you again soon. Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coachman's Inn has 30 spacious, comfortable rooms, a friendly, knowledgeable staff, and thoughtful amenities. Guests appreciate all these attributes, but perhaps most attractive of all is the location. Step out the front door and the charm of Carmel-by-the-Sea is in every direction. The white sand beach? A five-minute stroll. The Sunset Center, Monterey's premier arts venue? One block away. Boutiques, restaurants, galleries and wine tasting rooms? You're surrounded! One of the newest locations to be added to the Four Sisters Inn Collection, the Coachman's Inn resembles more of a small hotel than a bed-and-breakfast inn. Guests enjoy a light Continental Breakfast each morning brought directly to their guestroom. Romantic escape or girlfriends' getaway, the Coachman's Inn has a guestroom that is just right. Each of our newly updated rooms features a private bath, and king or queen bed with luxurious linens. Some rooms offer two queen beds, or inner doors connecting two rooms - perfect for families or friends traveling together. Some rooms have cozy fireplaces or jetted spa tubs. Our innkeeper will help you select the guestroom that best suits your needs. Rates include: -A Light Continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning -Large, flat-panel television and DirecTV service -Wireless Internet service -In-room Keurig coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave -Two plush, cozy bathrobes and signature amenities -Freshly baked cookies each afternoon -Use of hot tub and dry sauna -Onsite or convenient street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coachman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.