We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weeknight stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Inn

Save Saved
You added Coachman's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coachman's Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   San Carlos at Seventh, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Weeknight stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed there for one night in September 2012. The comments about the construction work were valid. It is still ongoing. Did not bother us because were not in the room during the working hours. Payed 273$ for a one night stay. Got a 1st floor room (106) with a view straight to the street on the street level. This was very disappointing considering what we paid. The room was big and spacious. Because staying on the first floor the walking etc noises from upstairs were disturbing. Each morning at the inn, "we will hand deliver a light continental breakfast straight to your room! Wake up at your leisure and enjoy eating breakfast in the privacy of your own room or on one of our outdoor seating areas by yourself or meet up with new friends." Unfortunately this is more or less of an insult then anything else. I would definitely omit the advertisement all together of maybe try to put some more effort into it!!! Will probably not stay there next time and cannot recommend.

Room Tip: room # 106 first floor street level, expensive. Cannot recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that it was not a completely positive experience. Our light continental breakfast currently consist of orange juice, cereal (with milk), yogurt and a pastry. Although the grand majority of our guests enjoy the way this is arranged, we have had a few people wanting more of a full breakfast (we had tried this in the past but the cost made our room rates go up beyond a level we were comfortable with all of our repeat guests). It sounds like the rate you paid must have been on a highly impacted night (perhaps when most, if not all, of the hotels in town were sold out and the average rates in town are in the $200 - $300 range). Typically, our mid-week rates during September (with Indian Summer one of the busiest months of the entire year) are closer to an average of $180 plus tax. If you have a chance can you email me at info@coachmansinn.com to let me know if it was the breakfast you were disappointed with (the description) or the available seating areas. Again, I really do appreciate your input and if you give us another chance we would like to make your stay the very best possible. Karen, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
74
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have lost count of how many times I have stayed here, but make an annual trip (sometimes two) to Carmel and stay nowhere else. Centrally located to the best restaurants, great shopping, art galleries and wine tasting. Ten muinute walk to sand beach on bay. Half hour to John Steinbeck's famous Cannery Row in Monterey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for all of the years you have stayed with us! Over 80 percent of our customers are people, such as yourself, that come back 1 - 3 times a year and we consider you to be a "part of the family." Look forward to seeing you again soon. Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a fine stopping point for Carmel, with off-street parking, central location; rooms are OK (if a little noisy - but not bad). This stay was going fine until our breakfast arrived the next day - it was utterly miserly and cheerless - I wish they hadn't bothered. Cheerios, seriously? Can the Inn keeper really expect guests to appreciate this 'free' add on?
If 'Ryanair' means anything to readers of this review - then you know where I am going with this. It was out of step with the rest of the experience which was efficient, (the welcome was perfunctory, on a par with breakfast).
It seems to me that Carmel's hoteliers believe they have a captive market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
So sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast. It is of more of the light continental variety meant to jump start the day. We are currently looking in to ways to augment it into something of a more hearty variety while maintaining our lead as one of the best values in Carmel. Believe me, our Innkeepers association appreciates all of the guest that come in to our area to visit us - people have a lot of choices of destinations. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

close to the main strip for shopping and eating, walk to beach. very clean and well maintained inn with a nice jacuzzi tub on the property with a flat screen TV to watch the game! Our only complaint was the the room was very warm and we had to open the windows and wait for it to cool down. the continental breakfast was perfect as it was delivered to our door as were packing up to continue our travel. great one night stop on our way down the pacific coast hwy, although a little too quiet of a town for me and very pricey. We actually went to Monterey for dinner and hanging out on the boardwalk, which was much more our speed, and only 10 up the road. I would stay there if I went back to this part of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and glad that you enjoyed watching the game! If I recall, that was during one of our rare "heat waves" in the area (about 5 days a year where our mild temps climb a bit higher). Those are the especially great days to take a walk out on the nearby beach or take a lunch break at one of the outdoor cafe's. Please see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from a tour of the States which included 2 nights at this hotel which was quaint, cosy and a lovely place to stay.

I have to say that I was a little sceptical as some of the photos that other travellers had posted didn't do this place justice but when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised.

The receptionist (Betty) greeted us and was very helpful assisting us with maps of the town and local area etc. They have cider and cookies in reception for you to help yourself to which is a nice touch and gratefully received after a long day of travelling!

Our room was perfectly adequate - clean, a good size and with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time you request it. Yes, it's simple, but it's better than nothing which is what we got in the other 4 hotels we stayed in! It also has ample free parking which is a bonus and means no extortionate valet fees!

Overall I have no complaints about this hotel at all and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for lodgings in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We always do our best to be friendly and helpful and provide comfortable accommodations as you explore our beautiful area. Betty says "thank you" your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Location is great. We had a deluxe king room which was a nice size and included a fireplace facing the bed. The room was clean and nicely appointed, although the carpet could have used either a good cleaning or updating. The staff was courteous and accomodating. The breakfast choices were limited, but it was delivered to the room. The room included a Keurig coffeemaker which is a step up from the standard drip coffeemaker. We had a room on the top floor. I would recommend that as the rooms below us were situated over the parking. I would also recommend that you ask for a room off the street (San Carlos) to make it even quieter. We never heard our neighbors. There is construction next door, but since we stayed on a weekend it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We love those Keurig coffee makers as well - finally, hotel coffee that you can actually drink! A quick note on carpeting - we have plans over the winter to do a soft goods renovation that will remedy some of the wear issues. One of the things about being so popular is that there is a constant need to replace and replenish and we feel blessed to have owners that don't mind spending money on upkeeping the property to high standards. Please come back and join us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, Brazil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Carmel is so pleasant to be that anyplace will be good.
Coachman's although has a cozy atmosphere that makes you feel home instead of at a hotel, the location is perfect and the staff very kind.
The breakfast is tiny but delivered to the room in a very funny recipient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks, Luiz. When you come back to the States, please see us again! Carmel is such a charming town and you could spend a week visiting the surrounding Monterey Peninsula and not see and do everything.

Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coachman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn

Address: San Carlos at Seventh, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated Carmel by the sea Inn features 30 uniquely decorated and spacious rooms that provide all of the charm and ambiance of an inn with the services of a hotel. Starting with the complimentary breakfast, you will certainly enjoy all the great amenities as you visit the Sunset Center, Carmel Beach, Carmel shops, restaurants and art galleries of this gorgeous seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coachman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.