We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for Carmel, but cheerless breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coachman's Inn to your Saves list
Coachman's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Carlos Street, Between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine for Carmel, but cheerless breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a fine stopping point for Carmel, with off-street parking, central location; rooms are OK (if a little noisy - but not bad). This stay was going fine until our breakfast arrived the next day - it was utterly miserly and cheerless - I wish they hadn't bothered. Cheerios, seriously? Can the Inn keeper really expect guests to appreciate this 'free' add on?
If 'Ryanair' means anything to readers of this review - then you know where I am going with this. It was out of step with the rest of the experience which was efficient, (the welcome was perfunctory, on a par with breakfast).
It seems to me that Carmel's hoteliers believe they have a captive market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
So sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast. It is of more of the light continental variety meant to jump start the day. We are currently looking in to ways to augment it into something of a more hearty variety while maintaining our lead as one of the best values in Carmel. Believe me, our Innkeepers association appreciates all of the guest that come in to our area to visit us - people have a lot of choices of destinations. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    44
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
78
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

close to the main strip for shopping and eating, walk to beach. very clean and well maintained inn with a nice jacuzzi tub on the property with a flat screen TV to watch the game! Our only complaint was the the room was very warm and we had to open the windows and wait for it to cool down. the continental breakfast was perfect as it was delivered to our door as were packing up to continue our travel. great one night stop on our way down the pacific coast hwy, although a little too quiet of a town for me and very pricey. We actually went to Monterey for dinner and hanging out on the boardwalk, which was much more our speed, and only 10 up the road. I would stay there if I went back to this part of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and glad that you enjoyed watching the game! If I recall, that was during one of our rare "heat waves" in the area (about 5 days a year where our mild temps climb a bit higher). Those are the especially great days to take a walk out on the nearby beach or take a lunch break at one of the outdoor cafe's. Please see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from a tour of the States which included 2 nights at this hotel which was quaint, cosy and a lovely place to stay.

I have to say that I was a little sceptical as some of the photos that other travellers had posted didn't do this place justice but when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised.

The receptionist (Betty) greeted us and was very helpful assisting us with maps of the town and local area etc. They have cider and cookies in reception for you to help yourself to which is a nice touch and gratefully received after a long day of travelling!

Our room was perfectly adequate - clean, a good size and with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time you request it. Yes, it's simple, but it's better than nothing which is what we got in the other 4 hotels we stayed in! It also has ample free parking which is a bonus and means no extortionate valet fees!

Overall I have no complaints about this hotel at all and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for lodgings in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We always do our best to be friendly and helpful and provide comfortable accommodations as you explore our beautiful area. Betty says "thank you" your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Location is great. We had a deluxe king room which was a nice size and included a fireplace facing the bed. The room was clean and nicely appointed, although the carpet could have used either a good cleaning or updating. The staff was courteous and accomodating. The breakfast choices were limited, but it was delivered to the room. The room included a Keurig coffeemaker which is a step up from the standard drip coffeemaker. We had a room on the top floor. I would recommend that as the rooms below us were situated over the parking. I would also recommend that you ask for a room off the street (San Carlos) to make it even quieter. We never heard our neighbors. There is construction next door, but since we stayed on a weekend it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We love those Keurig coffee makers as well - finally, hotel coffee that you can actually drink! A quick note on carpeting - we have plans over the winter to do a soft goods renovation that will remedy some of the wear issues. One of the things about being so popular is that there is a constant need to replace and replenish and we feel blessed to have owners that don't mind spending money on upkeeping the property to high standards. Please come back and join us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, Brazil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Carmel is so pleasant to be that anyplace will be good.
Coachman's although has a cozy atmosphere that makes you feel home instead of at a hotel, the location is perfect and the staff very kind.
The breakfast is tiny but delivered to the room in a very funny recipient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks, Luiz. When you come back to the States, please see us again! Carmel is such a charming town and you could spend a week visiting the surrounding Monterey Peninsula and not see and do everything.

Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for one night travelling along the coast. Friendly staff. Clean newish rooms. Only down side was the building works going on. Breakfast is a little limited. Quite expensive but then Carmel is not cheap. Receptionist helpful and recommended a good restaurant to eat at, Basil,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do wish the construction was not taking place but around town there are always building renovations taking place (part of Carmel life I suppose). Building takes place only on weekdays from 8a-5p. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and Basil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay near downtown Carmel with access to shops and short drive or long walk to the beach.The room was very clean (a bit dated) the staff courteous and accomodating. At the time of our visit there was construction on an adjacent property and that noise was distracting but started at about 8 AM and ended after 5 PM. I found this to be the only real negative aspect of our visit.
The property accepts dogs but requires notice for certain rooms. I accept this policy for the comfort of all. We would have brought our dog had we known. The website where we found this property and booked the room stated "no Pets" but the manager assured us they just need notification should guests bring their dog/s.
We loved this Inn! We will return - sometime soon.

Room Tip: Parking IS an issue. It is first come first served. If sold out the parking will probably be full on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are currently refreshing our rooms heading in to the Fall/Winter as we continuously make upgrades to the comforts of the hotel. Yes, parking can be difficult at times at most Carmel hotels/inns due to the small nature of our town (just one square mile in size) but there is always a place to park on adjacent streets. Please come back and see us soon!

Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coachman's Inn has 30 spacious, comfortable rooms, a friendly, knowledgeable staff, and thoughtful amenities. Guests appreciate all these attributes, but perhaps most attractive of all is the location. Step out the front door and the charm of Carmel-by-the-Sea is in every direction. The white sand beach? A five-minute stroll. The Sunset Center, Monterey's premier arts venue? One block away. Boutiques, restaurants, galleries and wine tasting rooms? You're surrounded! One of the newest locations to be added to the Four Sisters Inn Collection, the Coachman's Inn resembles more of a small hotel than a bed-and-breakfast inn. Guests enjoy a light Continental Breakfast each morning brought directly to their guestroom. Romantic escape or girlfriends' getaway, the Coachman's Inn has a guestroom that is just right. Each of our newly updated rooms features a private bath, and king or queen bed with luxurious linens. Some rooms offer two queen beds, or inner doors connecting two rooms - perfect for families or friends traveling together. Some rooms have cozy fireplaces or jetted spa tubs. Our innkeeper will help you select the guestroom that best suits your needs. Rates include: -A Light Continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning -Large, flat-panel television and DirecTV service -Wireless Internet service -In-room Keurig coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave -Two plush, cozy bathrobes and signature amenities -Freshly baked cookies each afternoon -Use of hot tub and dry sauna -Onsite or convenient street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coachman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.